Brazil Nut Butter

 photo 2016-06-12-1009_e_zpshndvtiae.jpgRoast ’em, blend ’em and repeat forever.

Just a quickie and a garden post that’ll follow below the recipe. I know, but the garden is flourishing with this wet and warm weather. Let Jack have his fun, dearest reader. You’ve seen this recipe a few times with my various nut butters. I keep them separate as they may get tweaks in the future. I used my Peanut Butter Cookies recipe for the cookies. They were rather messy to work with, that’s why I prefer using all natural peanut butter. A much better dough. Still with wet hands you can form rough rounds and they bake fine, just give them an extra five. I gave them a sprinkle of sugar, but that’s optional.

 photo 2016-06-12-1010_e_zpsr88th9vs.jpgI think of these as uglies. They taste the same.

They taste okay, I wasn’t that wild on the Brazil nuts to be honest. It’s just nice to have options and making your own butters is really cheap. Well, it can be if you can get the nuts cheap. That’s not always a given. You get the chance to experiment with new foods on a limited diet then you take it. They do go well with coffee, but very little doesn’t. I haven’t much to add to this post. Still a recipe’s a recipe and that’s something, right? Sure it is. A bit on the garden below, just after the recipe. See you again soon.

 photo 2016-06-12-1011_e_zpsgyjqdpxa.jpgFirm, but light inside.

Brazil Nut Butter

Ingredients

200g Shelled Brazil Nuts
2-4 Tbsp Coconut Oil, Melted or Other Mild Tasting Oil

Method

1. Pre-heat oven to 175c (Fan) and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Spread the Brazil Nuts out and then bake for 10-15 minutes, stirring to prevent burning as needed, until fragrant and slightly browned. Be careful of burning.

3. Add the Brazil Nuts to a food processor, while still warm, and blend until a smooth glossy paste has been formed. Add Oil as needed to facilitate blending and stop every few minutes to prevent food processor over-heating. Store it in the fridge.

For the Cookies (Adapted from Here)

Ingredients

175g Brazil Nut Butter
1 Large Egg
60g Sugar
Dash Vanilla Extract
1/4 Tsp Baking Soda

Makes about 12 Cookies

Method

1. Preheat oven to 175c (Fan).

2. Combine Eggs, Vanilla Extract and Sugar in a jug and mix well.

3. Put Brazil Nut Butter into bowl, add wet ingredients and Baking Soda and mix, with an electric mixer, until a thick sticky dough has been formed.

4. Using wet hands form into 1 Tbsp sized balls and flatten onto Greaseproof Paper and bake for 15 minutes. Then remove from Oven and rest on tray for a further 10 minutes. Then let cool completely on a wire-rack.


My sunflower is doing a thing. That’s the technical term. It’s forming what looks like miniature heads at the sides. This might actually be bad, but I think it’s cool. Flowers are really time consuming, they take so long, but I think I enjoy them. My hanging basket idea went to…*Covers your ears*…heck, heh, got ya. I wanted four colours evenly sectioned. Eh, I made mistakes, it went wrong, but I now have a plethora of lobelia because I separated what grew. I ended up with three colours: White, Blue and Purple. The pink is in a pot slowly growing. It turns out they need shade, perfect for the baskets out front. I’ll have photos when they really start to bloom. They’re all over the place. They’re perennials so they should be back next year too all going well. So it all worked out in the end.

 photo WP_20160612_011_e_zpsrxmawu9m.jpgThe crown.

 photo WP_20160612_012_e_zps5dbw6kpc.jpgRight side.

 photo WP_20160612_013_e_zpsglmxcbkm.jpgLeft shoot.

The nasturtiums I planted look a lot redder than I imagined. They look rather nice, I wasn’t sure if they’d be at all attractive. My Giant Swiss Pansies have flowered, well one has. I grew these from seed and they seemed to do nothing for so long. They do look well, hopefully in another month they look more impressive. It’s an accomplishment, albeit it a small one. I left the basil  to grow wild and it doing really well, it shouldn’t be doing so well, it should be too cramped. Luck: It’s always a factor. More pesto for me.

 photo WP_20160612_014_e_zps7erkimag.jpgReally red, right? I can’t wait until they open.

 photo WP_20160612_010_e_zpsnc7zm1lw.jpgSo small, but they’re flowering.

 photo WP_20160612_008_e_zpshybsmnxu.jpgI shall call you Mini Jack.

 photo WP_20160612_015_e_zps2aiyblwb.jpgI shall call you: Fluke.

 photo WP_20160612_007_e_zpsdkocow63.jpg“Is that a camera!?” Nah Naru, it’s nothing, Said Jack, taking a photo from one end of the garden or else Naru would run away.

7 thoughts on “Brazil Nut Butter

  1. Your Brazil nut cookies look nice but you haven’t said how long you cook them for just that you put them in the fridge straight from the blender. Do you not cook them at all? Your plants look great and I love your dog. 🙂

    Like

      1. Great, thanks. They look really nice. I will try these as I like Brazil nuts and it is nice to find new tasty treats 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

