Filbert? No, This is Jack

 photo WP_20160525_001_e_zps2pmgscbz.jpgNondescript apple purée, pots and tins scattered about. Perfect.

I just have to say that there are a lot of really wonderful people out there, not that I ever doubted it, but after posting the award post below I was hit with a wave of goodwill. I know it seems strange considering this is the internet, but I am shy and I do shy away from interacting much with others online, I’m trying to improve, I just have to take it at my own pace. I just want to thank you each and everyone for supporting this site and me. Stick with me, it can only get better from here. Can you feel it? The season has changed, no, not those paltry seasons we all know, but the one true divide that matters. Yes, dear reader, it’s pesto season! I’ll let that soak in. You can almost smell the basil from here. There was a rough patch due to the extreme heat, but thankfully the basil has recovered thanks to the tender ministrations of Jack. I think the store bought stuff has a different flavour, somewhat spicy. Whatever the variety it made some amazing pesto. I only managed to get two servings, but I can’t wait to try them in pasta. I was busy today fiddling with bit and bobs, I’ve been using hazelnuts quite a bit today. First in the pesto and later in a new tweak to a newish recipe. The pesto is really versatile and covers a lot of diets.

 photo 2016-05-25-998_e_zps6fbsnqpd.jpgHazelnuts or Filberts, whatever you call them they’re delicious.

 photo 2016-05-25-1000_e_zpsnstpme4z.jpgThe first of many I hope.

 photo 2016-05-25-1003_e_zps1subxf0j.jpgPeanut Butter Curry

I wasn’t just roasting nuts, cooking apples and making bread, nah, I was also getting my dinner. I tell you the hardest thing was finding curries that could be made, or were already, nightshade free. I’ve amassed quite a few. The main ones are my own creations. Today I had my Peanut Curry with turkey mince, broccoli, which I now have one week, and sweet potato. The nice things is with these curries is that you could adjust it to suit any size serving you want. You could bulk it with as many vegetables as you like or omit the meat entirely. Though try as I might I can never get he pictures to look good. Ah well, no one is perfect. I have a new recipe waiting for the next harvest of basil so keep an eye out for that.

 photo 2016-05-25-1005_e_zpstb9payt8.jpgBuckwheat Vegetable Bread (I Know, just follow the link)

You know why I call it a loaf rather than a cake? I could pick it up with one hand fresh out of the oven. I’d never dare do that with a delicate cake. (I left this post last night, resuming now and I hope I remember what I was saying) This time I subbed apple purée, literally just apples with a dash of water cooked in a pot until soft, for the pumpkin. It turned out the same. There wasn’t much of an apple taste, same way there isn’t much of a pumpkin taste in the basic recipe. This might be slightly lighter, but not enough to be considered a drastic change. Sure an apple isn’t a vegetable, but remember: A squash is a berry.

 photo 2016-05-25-1006_e_zpstulseftf.jpgThey don’t crumble much.

 photo 2016-05-25-1008_e_zpsnol2l6cw.jpgSilly fun.

Lastly, well last for that day, I made some Hazelnut Coffee Buns. I’ll list the variation on the recipe page. It’s really simple, some strong coffee, I just used a pod machine, it’s gluten free and it saves me hassle, and I had hazelnuts and the nut butter ready after the pesto. You can use coffee instead of water in a fair few recipes, but your mileage will vary depending on the amount and the base flavours in the recipe. It was really nice, I think I prefer almond and coffee, but I now know you can use nut butters in this recipe. I actually ran out of quinoa flour and had to sub in some buckwheat. It’s funny how you never realise how important the balance is until you mess with it, they were fine, just not as light as the ones with an even split between flours. I had fresh thyme in my Jerk Chicken today, I love having recipes that use fresh herbs. I may have to look into tagging for that. Okay, that’s that. I have a new CD fresh from Japan to listen to, special order no less. An extravagance, but happiness is something worth spending more on. Take care.

4 thoughts on “Filbert? No, This is Jack

Leave a Reply

