Banana Oat Bread

 photo WP_20160425_004_e_zpsik5dmrxu.jpgBe bold, bloody and…wrong post.

Since this is a slight deviation from the norm I’ll deviate too and be irreverent, no not irrelevant!, facetious, no poop jokes!, and, hmmmm? How is that any different from usual? Well, you’ve got me there, reader. So how does this post differ from the usual? Well, to be honest I actually haven’t eaten this myself. Woah! Get back here. I’m just passing this on for anyone who wants to try it, I’ve made it checked it and doubled check it, it was made for a friend and they loved it so I thought I’d just pass it along regardless of my having had tried it. The bread is fine from what I can tell, I made a mistake with the tin size as I assumed there’d be some rise. I’ve never made a porridge bread before so now I know. Just use the recommended tin and you’ll be fine.

 photo WP_20160421_001_e_zpsgqe31p9l.jpgThis looks…I know I make that joke a lot. You shut up.

This is a really loaded bread. You can probably wing it with some of the ingredients, the banana, egg and chia are the binders so be careful when substituting those. I had chia but no blueberry mix so I just blended fresh blueberries instead and it worked fine. I was worried that whole ones would burst and make the bread crumbly. You could try it if you’d rather it’s up to you I won’t be fiddling with this recipe I’ll leave that you you ever intrepid reader, no, not tepid, it means. Just forget it…fathead. You could sub out the nuts with something else, maybe other nuts or seeds. Whatever you’d rather. This doesn’t rise as I said and it is rather dense, but it does have a slight springiness to it which is surprising. Yeah, I cut it in half to make sure it was baked, I couldn’t give it partly raw to someone could I?

 photo WP_20160421_002_e_zpsbtcnmgci.jpgI’ve seen a lot of raw centres in my time *Shudders*

This is a pretty common recipe these days, there’s even a version with just yoghurt (Egg replacer) and oats. Porridge oats and rolled oats are one in the same, that’ll save you some confusion. But if a recipe called for quick oats or microwave oats that’ll be different. Not much else to say here, I’m sure no-one will mind an untasted recipe once in a blue moon. I’ll probably hold off on the garden posts for a while as you might be tired of them. I had my first flower open today, which is pretty awesome. I’ve had a squash flowers by the dozen, but no decorate ones. I think it’s cool at least, you probably do too my botanical-hearted friend. I’m sure you do. No don’t protest, leave Jack to his imaginings. Until later.

 photo WP_20160421_003_e_zpsmwlgwyxt.jpgFlat is fine. Remember that, it’ll be true a lot in GF baking.

 photo WP_20160421_005_e_zpstq0mzxs6.jpgThere’s a lot going on in there.

Ingredients

120g Rolled Oats/Porridge Oats
80g Shelled Walnuts
50g Chopped Almonds
3 Medium Eggs
2 Medium Bananas
4 Tbsp Milled Chia Seeds
20g Fresh Blueberries
4 Tbsp Dessicated Coconut
2 Tbsp Raisins
2 Tbsp Ground Almonds
2 Tbsp Sesame Seeds
2 Tsp Baking Powder
1 Tsp Cinnamon
1 Tsp Vanilla Extract

Method

1. Preheat oven to 180c (No Fan) and grease and line a 6×3 inch loaf pan.

2. Add all the Dry Ingredients to a bowl and set aside. Add everything else to a blender or food processor and blend together until smooth. Pour into the Dry Mix and stir together until a batter has been formed.

4. Pour batter into prepared tin and bake for 45 minutes, turning halfway if needed, until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean.

5. Cool in tin for 20 minutes, then remove and let cool completely on a wire rack.

One thought on “Banana Oat Bread

Leave a Reply

