Buckwheat Sesame Cookies

 

 photo WP_20160420_003_e_zpspilw7h6f.jpgHalved from Buckwheat Flour Flavored Cookies

I’m afraid I have to admit something, two things rather. Firstly I underestimated this recipe and secondly I don’t do well with fiddly things. The recipe turned out wonderfully, I’m genuinely surprised how well these baked, but I assumed that they’d wouldn’t cut and that they’d spread. They did neither, so I ended up with tall cookies with a lumpy shape. Thankfully they baked perfectly. You might want to follow my recipe below that was crafted after I made this ugly yet tasty cookies. These held their shape really well, I’ll try this recipe again. I do also wonder if you could make chequered cookies with this dough. I couldn’t that should be evident, but maybe a more talented decorator may be able to do something interesting, I’ll leave it to them. Just ignore the wonky shape and look to what’s inside.

 photo WP_20160420_007_e_zpsafmzmksk.jpg*Shakes around* Hey, this is really solid.

So these are similar to a Cookie recipe I have, there’s no egg in these and they’re more of a shortbread, if I’m remembering shortbread correctly. That’s one pain in all of this: I haven’t eaten the originals of a lot of what I make so it makes it hard to compare. As I said I was pleasantly  surprised at how well they firmed up. I made mine too long, but I have no experience in rolled up dough so I can at least learn from this.  They are forgiving in that they baked just fine tall and narrow so you’ll be fine regardless of your skill level. I found kneading them easier than just stirring with a wooden spoon, but I do enjoy kneading dough and let me tell you buckwheat is a true joy to work with. Get the dough formed however suits you and wrap it up fat like pudding, not like gnocchi. Live and learn, eh?

 photo WP_20160420_008_e_zps75aaut3s.jpgThey’ll roll…right? (Wrong)

So they baked a little faster than stated, I ate a few while they were still hot. They have a really crunchy exterior, but not dry and the inside is just moist enough and light enough to melt in your mouth. The taste is perfect, there’s a wonderful balance between the two sweeteners and the sesame and salt. My palate isn’t very refined, but even I could tell the flavours here matched each other perfectly. The brown sugar probably lent some moisture and amazingly the honey didn’t burn, though the bottoms did a darken a lot more then the rest of the cookie. The sesame gives a nice extra crunch. You could do a lot with this as a base, I’ll come back to it in time. This was a fun recipe to try. I’ll have new recipes sooner rather than later. Until then.

 photo WP_20160420_009_e_zpsrvmz2l75.jpgUgly but so good.  I kept coming in from the garden to eat them.

Ingredients

120g Buckwheat Flour
50g Butter, Softened
30g Honey
20g Light Brown Sugar
10g Sesame Seeds
Pinch of Salt
Milk as Needed

Method

1. Cream the Butter and Sugar with an electric mixer until fluffy, then beat in the Honey and Salt until combined.

2. Stir in the Flour and Sesame with a wooden spoon until a firm then mix, adding Milk as needed, until a slightly sticky firm dough has been formed. Transfer dough to a lightly floured work surface. Knead and then roll into a fat cylinder and wrap with cling film then leave in the fridge for 30 minutes. Dough will be firm and solid when removed from the fridge.

3. Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper and preheat the oven to 170c (Fan). Remove cling film and cut off 1/2 cm rounds of dough and transfer to the baking tray. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until cookies are golden brown and fairly firm to the touch. Remove from oven and let cool for 10 minutes then transfer to a wire-rack to cool completely.

One thought on “Buckwheat Sesame Cookies

Leave a Reply

