Tahini

 photo WP_20160420_001_e_zpshpjamn8s.jpgI measured out the seeds but forgot about the loss of volume when grinding.

Yeah, I used 150g, but go for the 200g for about the same amount as store bought tahini. Okay, this time I used this as a reference and I’m glad I did as there are a few differences between nut butters and tahini. Firstly you don’t need to roast the seeds until dark, just a little colour and fragrance is all you’re looking for. I taste tested the seeds and you can tell when they’re done quite easily. Second you let them cool, toss them onto a plate or something so they cool faster. Lastly I went with olive oil rather than coconut, though you can still use whatever, as it pairs really well with tahini and I’ll be adding it to it when I use it. That was a terrible sentence. I blame this heat, which I am grateful for, as are the plants, but I always get a little muddled in hot weather.

 photo WP_20160420_002_e_zpspn4mxwg5.jpgHard to tell but they are toasted.

I have an induction hob which always seems to give me grief whenever I try to toast anything in a pan so I opted for the oven instead. You could make this raw as well but I don’t know if there are other considerations when going the raw route. Be safe is what I’m saying. I would like to try black sesame seeds just to have a black tahini, sadly I can’t get those anywhere. Nothing much else left to add, I do understand this does assume you know what tahini is like, if you are new to it blend up a small batch to see what you think. I have a tag devoted to tahini and a large number of recipes that use it so you should find something to suit you. Tahini is a staple of my diet, I prefer it blended with garlic and oils, but you may enjoy it straight on bread or in hummus. Whatever you decide to go do consider adding a little tahini to your diet it’s a really worthwhile addition. One more recipe is coming maybe later or tomorrow. Until then.

 photo WP_20160420_004_e_zps5zxr1eut.jpgThe almost not quite stage, don’t stop here.

 photo WP_20160420_005_e_zpsdts14cbj.jpgGo for the smooth and glossy stage.

 photo WP_20160420_006_e_zpstnrgsr3x.jpgIt ends up about 3/4 filled, so you lose around a  quarter of the volume.

Ingredients

200g Sesame Seeds
1-2 Tbsp Olive Oil or Other Mild Tasting Oil

Method

1. Pre-heat oven to 175c (Fan) and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Spread the Sesame Seeds out and then bake for 5-7 minutes, stirring to prevent burning as needed, until slightly fragrant and a little coloured. Taste to tell if done. Transfer to a plate and let cool completely.

3. Add the Sesame Seeds to a food processor and blend until a smooth glossy paste has been formed. Add Oil as needed to facilitate blending and stop every few minutes to prevent food processor over-heating. Store it in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

