Almond Butter

2017 Update: Due to a problem with Photobucket, see here, there will be a lot of recipes without photos. I will be slowly redoing the recipe pages, as best I can, but many other posts will be impossible to replace. I’m doing this in my own time, while continuing to update the blog with new recipes and posts. If you’d like to donate, any amount appreciated, you can do so here. The site will always be free, the recipes will never be locked behind a paywall, but this is a lot of additional work. I’m not demanding or begging, just putting it there so if you feel like repaying my hard work you have that option. I don’t make any money from the site, all that I do here is to help others, I couldn’t charge for that.

You knew this was coming. Because I told you a lot.

I was in the garden for a lot of today, but I knew I had to make this so here we are. this wasn’t as labour intensive as I remember, mind you I didn’t use added oil, or at least not enough, way back then. We all learn and grow and make butters…that got away from me slightly. Not much to say, I’ll try to teach you any little tricks I’ve been using and hopefully someone out there will want to make almond butter too. This might be something I’ll do fairly often as it’s about 1/7 of the cost of store bought. In saying that it depends on the availability and price of gluten free almonds. I’d say give it a month in the fridge to be safe, check it occasionally but do be weary of it going rancid and yes in the fridge or you’ll regret it and have wasted this delicious nut butter.

The nuts don’t darken a lot, if they do they’re possibly burned.

This is another of those where you go by smell and taste, you’ll want to avoid over baking them or you’ll end up with a nasty tasting butter, but at the same time you want them nicely toasted (Yes, I know I said baked a moment ago, I’m not perfect nit-picky reader, I just seem that way). You might be able to peel them by rolling them on a tea-towel, but why waste the skin? I didn’t bother with salt or any other flavourings as I use this in curries and breads and I like it as plain as possible.

First it goes chunky and slightly thin, you could stop here, but don’t.

One tip: Measure out how much your food processor can take before roasting (Yeah, I’m just messing with you now) as you won’t want to overfill it and leaving some to rest will let them cool and it’ll be harder to grind them into butter. My little food-processor took 200g so you can probably get a lot in a larger model. You might be best to just grind what you’d need for a few weeks, maybe use some right away if you make too large a batch. Remember it can be used in place of peanut butter, so you could have delicious cookies, I won’t be doing a second recipe this time around as I just want the butter. That’s it for today. I’ll be tackling tahini next so keep an eye out for that. Take care. Later.

Smooth and glossy is best.

Ingredients

200g Whole Almonds, Skin On
2-4 Tbsp Coconut Oil, Melted or Other Mild Tasting Oil

Method

1. Pre-heat oven to 175c (Fan) and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Spread the Almonds out and then bake for 10-15 minutes, stirring to prevent burning as needed, until fragrant and slightly browned. Be careful of burning.

3. Add the Almonds to a food processor, while still warm, and blend until a smooth glossy paste has been formed. Add Oil as needed to facilitate blending and stop every few minutes to prevent food processor over-heating. Store it in the fridge.

So delicious and cheap *Weeps*

2 thoughts on “Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

