Brown Rice Flour Fruit Scones

 photo IMGP4255_e_zpsxtsfb4zi.jpgHey look at that, it’s not a mess.

Halved and tweaked slightly from: Here. This is one of those posts I have the most trouble typing, you see this is a pretty fine recipe, it works as it was supposed to and it’s all that I expect. It’s just that I wasn’t all the wild about it, it didn’t really taste all that great, not bad just bland, it crumbled a bit, not too much but enough to deter me from returning to it. It fell apart when cut hot. But here’s the thing, it’s a recipe using a large ratio of brown rice flour, without any gums, that holds together. If that isn’t admirable I don’t know what is. So, I’m not slagging off the recipe, I really found it interesting and worth of re-posting, it’s just as far as taste goes it isn’t something I’d return to. It also checks a box in that it uses apple and I’d like to use it more in my baking. So I’m not hating, it’s not a bad recipe it’s just that I’ve just has better that also cover more diets.

 photo IMGP4256_e_zpsrsozflc1.jpgHere and Here to be precise.

So not much to say beyond that. I had Brown Butter Scrambled Eggs today, I only had some store bought eggs and they don’t taste anywhere near as amazingly wonderful as the fresh ones we usually get. The brown butter helps add some taste. Though they’ve not as fancy as the name makes them sound, most things aren’t if you learn to make them well, the fear of the technique adds something special I guess. I’m at a loss here to what else I can say, I think if nothing else I’ve helped alleviate the drought that seemed to afflict the site. Now you will surely see Jack again, but at-least you’ll have a few recipes to keep you going in the meantime. I’m currently thinking of growing sweet-peas, mostly to make bad Popeye jokes. Until later!

 photo IMGP4257_e_zpsyxjcsd8u.jpgPopeye is always relevant.

Ingredients

75g Brown Rice Flour
65g Bramley Apple or any Green Apple, Grated
25g Buckwheat Flour
25g Butter, Cold and Chopped
25g Sultanas
1 Tsp Baking Powder
Milk as Needed

Method

1. Pre-heat oven to 200c (Fan) and line a baking tray with greaseproof-paper.

2. In a bowl mix together the Flours Baking Powder and Butter. Work together with fingers until it resembles breadcrumbs.

3. Add in the Apple and Sultanas and mix everything together with a fork. Add Milk, as needed, and knead until a slightly sticky dough has been formed. Form into a ball and dust with Brown Rice Flour. Roll out or flatten into a disc and cut into four pieces.

4. Place scones on tray and bake for 20 minutes, turning halfway if necessary. Remove from oven when Golden Brown and place on a wire-rack and let cool completely before cutting.

2 thoughts on “Brown Rice Flour Fruit Scones

  1. These we’re really nice! Thanks for sharing! Since you mentioned they were a little bland, I added 1/2 teaspoon fresh grated ginger, 1 1/2 teaspoons honey, and a pinch of salt. I also used cream instead of milk, since I do better with that. Then they were fantastic! My husband keeps asking for more scones!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

