Don’t Put That In Your Mouth

I was going to add this as permanent fixture at the top of the page, but  I’m not feeling too focused, a sinus infection is messing with me a tad, so I’ll probably be less coherent that I’d like to be for a permanent posting. Rather than that I’ll settle for this as the ephemeral feeling quality that a post like this has seems more suitable right now. Sure, it’ll be here forever, but I can hide it away and steal, er, re-use it eventually if I want to. So get to the point is surely rolling across the forefront of your thought right now, tend to ramble, don’t I? Yes, I do. Yes. I’ve forgotten what this was about. Just kidding, I haven’t. Hopefully.

You know what crops up a lot? What I have or rather: “What’s wrong with you” The temptation is often to answer you in that instance. What is wrong with me? Kindest reader please refrain from phrasing it that way, instead ask what is it that I struggle with, that is other than answering that same question, that and: “You lost weight, how conversations”. Sure, most are well meaning, but answer in any detail or truth and people tend to glaze over and instantly regret asking. At least here I have a captive, I’ve glued you to your chairs, audience and you have the choice to skip past this and carry on with your life. We all win, really.

So, I am a celiac, nightshade intolerant, histamine intolerant,  Google those because I’m just mentioning food and not going into all that right now. Lazy? Sure, you bet I am, Google it! And, oh yes overwhelmed reader, there’s more, I also can’t eat gelatin, no idea what that is, no symptoms being mentioned because it’ll all so disgusting I just don’t want to subject you to that. I can’t tolerated added starches or gums either. I’ll list the foods and additives I avoid below.

Celiac:

Wheat
Gluten
Graham
Couscous
Barley
Rye
Spelt
Malt
Semolina
Aspartame
Isomalt
Millet
Sorbitol
Kamut
Farro

Avoid Excessive Consumption:
Peach
Apricot
Pears

Yeah, some fruit contains Sorbitol which messes with my guts. Nuff said. There may be other varieties of wheat I haven’t listed, I may not have heard of them, but I don’t eat those either. I do eat though, I’d eat you if you were suitable delicious reader, I love to eat. Not too much, nor too little, enough of everything I need and a little of that which I love. So next is nightshades with an extra twist, oh yes, it keeps getting more and more fun. I’m laughing, really, these are tears of joy.

Nightshade:

Tobacco
Tomatillo
Tomato
Goji Berry
Potato
Bell Pepper
Chilli
Paprika
Cayenne Chilli Pepper
Eggplant
Carrageenan (E407)

I don’t smoke or drink, but second hand-smoke makes me queasy, always did. Now, did you spot the odd one out, observant friend of my heart? It’s that funny one called Irish Seaweed or Carrageenan or “It’s in everything you love!” Why? I don’t know! Really, I’m sorry to be so vague, I saw one article relating it to nightshade intolerance and that was it, it’s vicious in its effects on me. Yet I have no idea why, like gelatin it’s an oddity. I had the gelatin problem since childhood, same with nightshade intolerance, yet I kept eating them because it was all in my head according to a doctor, I’ll cut the bitter reminiscences short here. Histamine intolerance next.

Histamine Intolerance:

Chestnuts
Artificial Colouring
Artificial Flavouring
Kale
Walnuts
Margarine
Yeast
Spinach
Mulberry
Chocolate
Beans
Rhubarb
Soy
Oats
Canned Food
Peas

Avoid Excessive Consumption:

Pumpkin Seeds
Caffeine
Aged/Cured Meats (Stick with Rashers)
Strawberry
Raspberry
Pineapple
Ripened Cheeses (Stick with Cheddar and Mild Cheese)
Citrus Fruits
Buttermilk
Cherries
Cilantro

Histamine intolerance sucks. That’s as eloquently as it needs to be put. You find it in everything, in different amounts, so that means I can tolerate some of the lower listed foods, but only a small amount occasionally. It does put a crimp in eating right as it knocks out a lot. Couple all these together, though there’s more to come, and that adds up to a lot of work and research to get to where I am now. If you are wondering how I figured all this out, well it was the elimination method, eat a lot and see what happens, repeat for each. I don’t want to repeat that again, let me tell you, a good three or fours years of work in that alone. Each one coming after another was settled. Last one coming up.

Thickeners/Starches

Locust Bean Gum/Carob Gum (E410)
Guar Gum (E412)
Corn Flour
Tapioca Starch/Flour

Again, so many foods contain these. So many foods I’d love. Bah! I don’t need them, I want them sure, but I don’t need them. I don’t think of myself as unique, special or anything of that ilk, but I’m learning not to think of myself as awkward or odd. I, as does everyone, deserves to be healthy and happy and should have no reasons to apologise when I don’t fit a predetermined mould. So, old top, gem of the ocean, fellow keyboard-dabbler, that’s a little view of the person behind this blog. Like looking behind the curtain it’s not all that exciting, but maybe it’ll help you understand the why in all these recipes and posts a little better. I’d still like a collective name for all these conditions, the best answer wins, ummmm, my esteem! Until the next post. Take care.

Leave a Reply

