Pumpkin, Flax and Chia Bread Rolls

 

 photo IMGP4165_e_zpsxuku9m6c.jpgGround Seeds will be added to batters. Oh yes, lots of seeds.

Right now I’m looking at a scribbled-on, barely legible version of this recipe, I have this tab open and I’m typing up the post whist also typing up this. If i don’t do this now I may forget most of what went on in the kitchen. My memory really let’s me down on these occasions. Ah well, I’ll just punch this up and carry on as usual. Crank up the music, we’ve got a really amazing recipe today. It comes from a site that I’d like to talk about a little, you’ll indulge me, I’m sure. the original recipe is from Easy Paleo Bread Rolls Cooking Without Gluten and  I can say without a shadow of a doubt that I’m a huge fan. I’ve actually had the opportunity to write up a couple of posts for the site. That might even be why you’re reading this now. I suppose what makes it such a fascinating site to me is that it’s on a similar wavelength to me, I’m not being a braggart, it’s just that I’ve had to take a different road from most when it came to ingredients and their uses, but what really makes it so special is that where I’m at a pretty good place experience-wise, I’m no beginner, I’m pretty good on the whole, but the web-master of Cooking Without Gluten is someone I hope to be almost as good as in a couple of decades. Yeah, I want to be that good when I grow up. There’s a creativity coupled with an ingenuity and a wealth of experience and understanding that is evident in every recipe. I urge you to check out her site, it’s not much coming from me, but I felt I had to share how much I’ve come to respect and admire the recipes and work that’s gone into each and everyone.

 photo IMGP4166_e_zpshxfs5nov.jpgAdd the custard. Kidding.

So you can imagine I was excited to finally try a recipe from there, it’s not a given for me as ingredients aren’t always available to me. Handily I had everything here. I’ve had to change up a few aspects, but I can happily spoil you and end the anticipation, it turned out perfectly. Probably not as good as the original, I did rush a step or two, sift? Sure! *Doesn’t sift*, but everything was as it was supposed to be as far as I can tell. I halved the recipe as, always, it’s just me eating these. I had to use ground Flaxseed, brown not gold hence the odd colour. They also baked a little fast so I cut the fan out of the baking instructions and lessened the time. Just tap the bottom and if they’re hollow you’re golden. They also cut hot out of the oven with no crumbs which is really neat. Oh! I left out the flavour as I like things plain at first. That’s all the changes I’ve made, I think. Check out the original to get a really comprehensive run-down of the process, this is just the “Me” version, re-written to suit myself. You’ll probably do the same thing when you try it yourself. Thanks again to Cooking Without Gluten for the recipe. I hope sharing it like this is alright, I love sharing recipes, but I also like to respect the original and give it its due credit.

 photo IMGP4167_e_zps7gr9fnkg.jpgSo much good packed into every bite.

One thing I wasn’t sure on was the apple, it was a little more than shredded, but still nowhere near a purée, thankfully it just melted into the roll as it baked. No doubt the blending with the egg broke it down more, that is seriously an amazing step. Where would you see that in a savoury bread? I know I’m repeating myself, but it was such a clever complex recipe with so much happening, yet so easy to follow and prepare. Okay, I’m writing this and writing up the recipe and bouncing back and forth to get it all in order, I just used a coffee grinder for the seeds, try to avoid making butter from the pumpkin. The dough is weird because it’s really soft, yet it doesn’t stick and it holds the shape really well with no spreading. Probably the chia and flax gelling slightly. As I said mine baked very fast. Ovens are quirky, but nothing burned so it’s all good. Now as far as taste goes, it’s sorta like a wholemeal-bread, the taste is really something great. I wasn’t sure at first, but after devouring all three I was sold. It’s soft on the inside, but not mushy, there’s enough bite there to compliment the slightly crusty shell. When you factor in all the boxes this ticks in the allergy-free category this is an absolutely wonderful recipe. I feel I’ve learned a lot in trying it. Okay, that’s it for today. look for lots of recipes with added seeds in the future. Hey!, I have to start somewhere, right? Until later, happy baking.

 photo IMGP4168_e_zpswdqswkni.jpgSo pleased with these.

Ingredients

75g Granny Smith Green Apple, Peeled and Cut into Chunks
1 Large Egg
50g Hulled Pumpkin Seeds, Ground into Flour
25g Ground Flaxseed
10g Chia Seed, Ground
1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
1/2 Tsp Salt

Optional:

Sesame Seeds to Decorate the Top before Baking
Egg Wash (One Egg mixed with Water)

Method

1. Add Pumpkin, Flax, Chia, Salt and Baking Soda to a bowl and set aside.

2. Blend Apple in a food processor for 1 minute, scrapping down the sides as necessary. It should look finely shredded.

3. Add the Apple and the Egg to another bowl and beat, using an electric mixer, on a medium high speed until it doubles in size and becomes pale and foamy.

4. Add the Apple mixture to the dry ingredients and mix using a fork. A soft, slightly sticky dough will form. Rest for 10 minutes.

5. Pre-heat the oven to 175c (No Fan) and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper. Wet hands and scoop up some of the dough, it will be soft but shouldn’t cling to hands, and form into a ball, place onto the tray and press down gently. Repeat until dough is used up. Top with the Sesame if using or brush with the Egg Wash and bake for 20-30 minutes or until a dark brown colour, firm to the touch and hollow sounding when bottom is tapped. Transfer to a wire-rack and cool for 10 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin, Flax and Chia Bread Rolls

  1. I am delighted that you liked the recipe. The dough is truly peculiar, I completely agree with you. Another strange thing this dough made with slightly different ingredients either apple sauce, apple puree or flaxseed flour instead of ground flax seeds came have very different texture, from really soft, to more dough like, but the final product is always the same, so the dough is very forgiving. Another excellent feature about this recipe, was not particularly planned, came as a bonus because of the ingredients This bread is practically a full meal in itself, plenty of protein, quality fats, fibre and complex carbs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

