Quinoa Flour Treacle Bread

 photo 2016-01-31-820_e_zpssrtcftjx.jpgI had it in the oven and then remembered I wanted to photograph the batter.

I had some Buckwheat and Flax bread to make so I decide to try something new alongside an old-faithful recipe. That loaf is actually half again, which was suggested for my Quinoa Bread by a fellow blogger. Funny how it took someone else making my recipe to think of it, I wouldn’t have, I’d have just kept doubling it and making it too large. That’s one of the reasons I love sharing recipes. They change depending on who makes them. Okay, to the other loaf. I’m stealing from myself again. I took both versions of my Treacle and Tea Bread and combined them to bake a loaf in the same manner  my mother makes hers. I’m using my Quinoa Flour Bread as a base, I love a versatile recipe. From there nothing much was changed, a little less water due to the treacle, but that’s all. I kept the flax meal in to help hold it all together, I didn’t want it overly dense and I did assume that it’d be a much denser flatter loaf with all the additions. More fool me, I should have a little more faith in myself. It came out lighter than the buckwheat, which is what I was looking for. It’s got just the right taste, maybe a little more treacle wouldn’t have gone amiss, then again you’d lose the sweetness of the fruit and the slight kick of spice. Any tea would work here, I brewed some rooibos just because it was handiest. Check out the Buckwheat version to get a wider view of the bread. This is the lighter of the two, more of a spongy interior, slightly heavier than a plain loaf, but pleasantly light and still very flavoursome. Perfect for a cuppa or in a lunch box. There sadly aren’t many traditional Irish recipes that can’t be found easily everywhere, I’d like to think this is the exception. Not much to say, this was a chance and it paid off. Quinoa flour still continues to surprise me. Okay, that’s it for today, a bit short and fast, but you’ll forgive me, won’t you? Later.

 photo 2016-01-31-823_e_zpsk7tpiqpx.jpgI took a cheeky slice when it came out of the oven. Don’t tell anyone….actually, tell everyone!

Ingredients

200g Quinoa Flour
25g Ground Flaxseed
150ml Strong Brewed Tea, Cooled Completely
75g Sultanas
75g Raisins
50g Treacle
25g Light Muscovado Sugar
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
2 Large Eggs
1 Tsp Mixed Spice
1/3 Tbsp Baking Soda
Dash Vanilla Extract

Can be frozen.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 175c (No Fan).

2. Grease and line a 6×3 inch loaf pan.

3. In a large bowl mix together the Egg, Olive Oil, Sugar, Treacle and Vanilla Extract. Add the Quinoa Flour, Flaxseed, Mixed Spice and Baking Soda and stir until combined, then add the Tea and stir together until smooth. Then fold in the Sultanas and Raisins. Let rest for 5 minutes. Batter will be thick but stirrable.

4. Pour batter into prepared tin and bake for 40 minutes, turning halfway if needed, until brown and a skewer comes out clean. Cover for the final 10 minutes to prevent top from burning.

5. Cool in tin for 20 minutes. then remove and let cool completely on a wire-rack.

4 thoughts on “Quinoa Flour Treacle Bread

Leave a Reply

