French Toast

 photo IMGP4042_e_zpsynwdyvvr.jpgThe things I do for love – Courage The Cowardly Dog

Ah, French Toast, me ole chum, me pal, eh, cocky? Yeah, I had French Toast a total of…one time and it was a soggy mess. I didn’t make it that time, so there’s that. So, you might ask, sceptical reader, why am I making it now? Why? You ask why? Because I could! Hah! Take that…Actually, take this recipe. You see, with my Quinoa Bread being pretty popular and making some wonderful fried bread, I thought I’d see if it would work as a base for French Toast, or Eggy Bread or whatever other name you’d rather. Well, from what I can tell it did work, but like I say, I’m no great expert at French Toast Identification, still it seems to match up with what it’s supposed to be. The texture of the quinoa bread is strong and springy so I had hoped it’d also be absorbent, it was, it sucked up all the Egg mixture between the two slices. It fried up nice and crispy on the outside, not quite as hard as the fried bread is, more of a nicely toasted feel. the inside was spongy, maybe a little more solid than it should have been, I’m, again, not sure. It tasted nice enough, not wet or soggy at all. I’m just not a huge fan of French Toast, but I wanted to see how far I can push this bread. I can only vouch for my own bread, I have tried frying other Gluten Free Breads and they ranged from meh to something unholy. So your mileage may vary depending on the bread used. This is just enough for two large slices of bread, make them thick ones to help them hold together, this didn’t break at all when fried. Not much else to say on this really. In plenty of time for Valentine’s Day, nothing says love like buttery sugary bread.

 photo IMGP4041_e_zps6e1nnzfa.jpgSo that’s that. Go out and make French Toast!

Ingredients

1 Large Egg, Lightly Beaten
60ml Milk
1 Tbsp Butter
2 Slices Bread
Maple Syrup to Serve

Optional: Fresh Berries to serve.

Method

1. Add the Egg and Milk to a shallow bowl and whisk together until completely combined.

2. Melt the Butter in a pan over a medium-high heat, being careful not to let it burn. Soak the Bread in the Egg mixture, leaving for a minute to soak up and then flip and repeat for the other side. Add to the pan and fry until golden brown and then flip and cook the other side. The exterior of the Bread should be firm to the touch, whilst the inside should be soft and springy.

3. Place French Toast onto a plate and drizzle with Maple Syrup. Top with Fresh Berries if desired.

2 thoughts on “French Toast

Leave a Reply

