Cashew Butter Honey Garlic Dressing

This is one of those recipes that are so simplistic that I really hesitate on whether to post them. I suppose when you start changing your diet there’s  feeling of excluding yourself, you’re not eating as others do so there can be a mental block when it comes to creating recipes. For me it was a matter of finding a recipe and feeling that at least I wasn’t the only one using it. Silly, but the journey from one diet to another, the mental changes massive weight-loss cause and life changing changes should be taken into consideration. In other words gentle reader and ex-fat me: You’re doing just fine kid, if anyone don’t like it, tell them to go soak their heads. Food is food and good food is the best food.

I’ve searched high and low for a nut butter dressing that: A) Was Lemon free B) Soy free C) Nightshade Free and after hours of fruitless searching I figured I could probably go it myself. So I took from my Tahini Sauces, I looked at countless Vegan Cashew Sauce recipes (Can’t do nutritional yeast sadly) and thought that honey and cashew butter with garlic sounded pretty good. And you know, it ain’t half bad for a quickie sauce. I just pour mine over pasta with chicken breasts cooked in garlic. Simple fare, but it fills me up and keeps me healthy and hearty. It also uses up the cashew butter when I’m not making Cottage Pies. As I come from a long line of runny noses, they run in the family you might say, the honey and raw garlic (Go easy on the salt or the combo will burn your mouth) are a great help for post-nasal drip. Though thanks to a reduction in dairy I’m no where as troubled as I was. This could be used in anything you like, sandwiches, noodles, salads, cold meals, hot meals whatever. It’s quite a mild sweet taste, it won’t over-power, but it will be over-powered if used in conjunction with anything strong tasting. I may change it up in future, but I’ll leave it as is for now, as a single serve recipe. That’s it for today, until later.

Ingredients

1 Tbsp Cashew Butter
1/2 Tbsp Olive Oil
1/2 Tbsp – 1 Tbsp Honey
2 Cloves Garlic, Grated or Equivalent in Garlic Paste
Black Pepper and Sea Salt to Taste
Water as Needed

Method

1. Mix everything but the Water together until well combined and then add Water until desired consistency is achieved.

3 thoughts on “Cashew Butter Honey Garlic Dressing

Leave a Reply

