Before the Mango

 photo 2016-01-14-787_e_zpscm5jtvh9.jpgI’m trusting you on that translation Google. I’d hate to look silly. The endless tradition of referential titles continues.

Didn’t I just upload this recipe? Yeah. And It’s getting changed again? Yeah. The endless march of recipe variations trundles ever onwards on its implacable path. Basically what I’m doing is changing the name and splitting the recipe in two parts, but keeping them together as they’re still practically the same. The idea is that eventually there’ll be more variations and they’ll either fall into the fruit or vegetable category and yes, I know squash is a berry. Put it in a trifle and see how it fares. I’ll post the recipe for these here and I’ll update the Quinoa Flour Muffins page. Today is a basic, but very useful tweak, I left out the pumpkin and spices and tried freshly puréed mango. I should say that I never use canned, histamine intolerance and what have you, so I can only guess that canned stuff, if even available, might be okay. My purées are just fruit and a dash of water so if yours contains sugar then you may have to adjust the sugar. I do wonder how much these need the sugar really. They do have the problem of being gritty if the sugar isn’t mixed enough. It seems to be a problem with a lot of free-from flours, at least in my experience. I find the less sugar the better they are texturally. I also don’t like them too sweet. Now, though there are only two variations, I don’t see why you couldn’t try this out with any other fruit purées and spice blends. Apple pie spiced muffins? Cinnamon and sultana pumpkin muffins? The possibilities aren’t endless, but there are certainly options to those willing to dare.

 photo 2016-01-14-785_e_zps2teryddh.jpgMy oven is crooked, hence the tilted tops. Heh, tilted tops. Heh.

I did find the taste a little lacking, the quinoa flour is a strong flavour and the mango wasn’t extraordinarily sweet. Still the texture was the same and thanks to melting the butter, any oil would probably work, but I’ll add it when I try it, they just popped out easily with no tearing. I actually gave these to my nieces and nephew and they loved them. I called them cloud muffins, it just sounds nice. Nothing much to add here, these are different from what I’d call muffins, they’re very light, too light to be compared to cupcakes (Don’t get me started on those, I was something back in the day….way back when) or something similar. They’re their own animal, take them as they are and you’ll probably go far. Nothing much else to add. I will say that with all my testing I’ve done with quinoa flour it seems to yield a very light baked good, one that can develop a crust and is a flour somewhat similar to buckwheat, but without its hold. I’ll keep trying it out while I work my way through the expiring flour and see what else can be created with it. I’d rank it as my second favourite free-from flour, buckwheat being the first naturally. Fun, fun, fun and now we update the recipe page. Later.

Mango

Wet Ingredients

100g Mango Purée
1 Large Egg
60ml Olive Oil
50g Sugar
1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract

Dry Ingredients

90g Quinoa Flour
1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
1/4 Tsp Baking Powder

Makes 6 Muffins.
Can be frozen.

Method

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175c (Fan). Grease and Flour (Use Brown Rice Flour) a Muffin tin with Butter. Melt the butter to help coat the tin.

2. Whisk together the Wet Ingredients until smooth and combined. Then whisk in the Dry Ingredients until a thick, but stirrable batter has been formed. Add a little Water if too thick.

3. Pour into the prepared tin, filling about 2/3’s full. Bake for 12-15 minutes until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean. Rest for 10 minutes and then remove to a wire-rack to cool completely.

5 thoughts on “Before the Mango

  1. Your muffins look great and it is interesting how flexible quinoa flour is. I get away with close to twice less flour, no added fat at all, and less moisture. I wanted to adapt my cottage cheese and almond muffins recipe for those who limit or avoid almonds altogether, and tried it now with white rice flour (my favourite), sorghum flour (edible, but terrible, did not work at all), and quinoa ( very nice, can’d decide yet are they better than price ones, or not). When I prepare sweet batters I always whisk eggs with sugar first, until they practically triple in volume. Depending on the mixer it takes 4 to 8 minutes. I only lately discovered that it is better done with a whisk from stick blender, than with hand held mixer, or even bench-top mixer. This process completely dissolves sugar and in my opinion changes the taste of the final product.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do occasionally take short-cuts here and there. I mostly just whip it with a fork and leave it at that when it comes to these basic batter recipes. I really should whisk my egg and sugar mixtures more. I’m hoping to have a few more quinoa recipes, I’ll mostly be adapting them from my buckwheat flour recipes. I want a few ingredient-packed bread recipes in case buckwheat does another disappearing act. Thank you for your comment, I always enjoy reading what you have to share.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your recipes look so good. I would love to try quinoa flour but in England the flour costs five times that of ordinary plain gluten free flour mix. Is quinoa flour expensive in Ireland? I’m trying to experiment as much as I can with the rice flour mixes and hoping that other flours will become cheaper in time. I enjoy reading your blog and getting inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. It’s the same here I’m afraid. I was luckily able to get some cheap with a short expiration date, so I’m experimenting with it as much as possible while I have it. I want to get as many recipes as possible so if I have to buy it again there’ll be no wasting it. I hope you’ll find something that’ll suit you here. Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

