Quinoa Flour Vegetable Breads

 photo IMGP4021_e_zpsy2eh6iqn.jpgSquash is going cheap, I’ve bought seven so far. Really lovely deep orange flesh.

This guy again? I’d have enough of me if I were you, er, sweetest reader? Yeah, that’ll do, I’m running out of adjectives here! I have to keep you interested somehow. Mind you there are so many different countries looking at these recipes, a large portion of which I’ve never heard of. I really find it fascinating, but a part of me is wondering why? I don’t think these recipes are that worthy of attention, but if it helps them spread then it’s all good. I’ll keep fumbling my way through the free-from culinary landscape and I hope you’ll stick with me faithful reader.

 photo IMGP4020_e_zpsexgijqiy.jpgNo order to these, there should be, but…can’t be bothered. You’ll forgive me, wretch that I am, right? Dearest reader?

I had some squash purée left over and I wanted to try a variant of my Vegetable Bread with quinoa flour instead of buckwheat. It’s a quick and easy bread, not too much to do with it just make sure it wasn’t too wet or too unstable. Thankfully I’ve found a balance in the amount of eggs to flour. Two large eggs seem to fit the bill nicely for each two hundred grams of quinoa flour. Not always a given, but it’s something I can work from. This is just the one style of bread, but I will be adding to it. It’ll all feature squash or sweet potato, hence the appellation of “Vegetable Bread”, descriptive if not fancy. It did take slightly less water, but when you factor in the extra oil and egg it’s probably a matter of more moisture needed really.

 photo IMGP4023_e_zpsnrhbxn1x.jpgExcuse the quality, my camera is starting to break down.

It tastes the same as the buckwheat version, not too sweet, sadly I only had Butternut and no Hokkaido this time, but I found it more than fine. It is stickier than the buckwheat version, not doughy or raw, just slightly sticky like if it had a lot more sugar in the recipe, somewhat close to a moist fruitcake texture. It did stick slightly to the lip of the tin so I may consider lightly flouring the next few loafs just to see how they fare. There is a strong taste of quinoa flour, but that’ll fade to background taste after I get accustomed to the flour. It did crumble slightly when cutting, it’s not as solid as the buckwheat version so the sultanas got in the way of the knife. There’s probably a trick to avoid that, but it’s minimal, I’m just fussy.

 photo IMGP4025_e_zpshafebvuo.jpgI sent off half the loaf to the children. Someone has to think of the children!

My buckwheat has come back into stock so I’m golden for flours for a while. I have until March 16th to use up the expiring flour and I’ve gone through two boxes already. Expect more recipes in the coming weeks. maybe something sweeter is  in order. You  could copy out most of the buckwheat versions of the vegetable breads and try those with quinoa flour, but I’ll post it on a try each first basis. That’s it for today. Take care.

Cinnamon Sultana Bread

Ingredients

200g Quinoa Flour
200g Butternut Squash, Mashed (Steamed or Baked)
150g Sultanas
50g Brown Sugar
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
1/3 Tbsp Baking Soda
2 Tsp Cinnamon
2 Large Eggs

Makes one 12 slice loaf. Can be frozen.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 175c (No Fan).

2. Grease, with Butter, and line a 6×3 inch loaf pan.

3. In a large bowl mix together the Butternut Squash, Cinnamon, Egg, Olive Oil and Brown Sugar. Add the Quinoa Flour and Baking Soda and stir until combined, then add the Water and stir until a slightly thick Batter has been formed. Finally stir in the Sultanas and rest for 5 minutes. Batter will thicken slightly.

4. Pour batter into prepared tin and bake for 40 minutes, turning halfway if needed, until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean.

5. Cool in tin for 20 minutes, then remove and let cool completely on a wire rack.

3 thoughts on “Quinoa Flour Vegetable Breads

Leave a Reply

