Quinoa Flour and Sweet Potato Gnocchi

11th January 2016 Update

 photo 2016-01-11-780_e_zpsirnwa94h.jpgMy spoon has senpai engraved on it, that’s really important to the taste. Really.

Just a quick, promised updated. I tried it with the third last of my home-made pesto, don’t cry horticulturally-inclined reader, I hope to have home-grown herbs again, soon-ish. The gnocchi is pretty similar to the Buckwheat version, though I found it lighter on the stomach. Texturally it’s about the same. The taste of quinoa flour is still present, but the sauce will over-power that easily. I’d prefer the buckwheat version personally, but it’s a very slight edge, I just prefer buckwheat’s taste. Nothing else needs to be changed here, so unless I try a squash version this will be the last update.


 photo 2016-01-06-772_e_zpssqpmaxpn.jpgI always make sure I at least test the recipe even if I don’t use it right away. I’ll tell you how it fares, but the recipe is sound.

Here’s a secret for you: There are days that having to make everything can really burn you out. Today just seems to have fallen into that category. I needed to get these pies and this gnocchi done so I hadn’t much choice, but a cold or bug has me a bit frazzled. I wish they were someone who could pick up the slack for me or even that it were possible to buy something quick when needed. That doesn’t happen for me, sadly, but I’ll get over this. If I were anyone else I’d probably consider stopping, but that isn’t me, that will never be  me. I didn’t get this far without knowing struggles and I certainly didn’t do all I did by giving up. This is a bump in the road, but that’s to be expected sometimes. Enough whining from yours truly, onto the recipe.

 photo 2016-01-06-771_e_zpsskhcetjh.jpgFlour. Flour everywhere.

This is based on my Buckwheat Gnocchi which I’ve decided to emulate and keep this Egg Free. This is slightly fiddly as you’ll have to keep gradually adding the flour while kneading. It all comes together easily with only a little flour and then when you start to knead it it gets extremely sticky. Keep adding, once you hit enough flour it’ll be fine. I know that when I follow the recipe again it won’t be as much work as the first time. Just a a pain in the backside when you’re not feeling 100%. As far as the pasta itself goes, well, it’s lighter than the Buckwheat version, but it does have a strong quinoa taste. That was tasted plain so let’s face it that’s not the way you, or me, will be eating it. Lot’s of oily sauce is the only way. They’re pretty similar, unfortunately I’ve never eaten potato gnocchi so I can’t compare these with that. Eh, it’s all quinoa flour, it freezes fine and you get a few dinners worth of pasta out of it. Not too shabby, right?

 photo 2016-01-06-773_e0_zpskipluzix.jpgThree squash carved…*Groans*

I know this should be rolled into a sausage and chopped, but I like using a teaspoon as it makes each piece a uniform size. Tradition kinda goes out the window once you start fiddling with the ingredients. As I say when I slap some sauce on it I’ll update this post, but the recipe itself is just fine as it is. Bit of an off post I admit, but it’s honest. This kind of diet is trying, I spent five hours in the kitchen today. Getting dinner and then preparing everything else, cleaning etc, but you know what? I used to spend five hours trying to get out of bed! It can make you tired, it can burn you out, but that kind of pain is nothing compared to the wreck I was when I was undiagnosed and overweight. If I can do what I did, anyone can. You don’t end up perfect, so far from it sometimes you feel like kicking someone’s head in, but better, so much better. It’s not about shaming or blaming, it’s just showing a little of the reality and a little of how worthwhile it is. I’ll be back to clarify some parts of this recipe, but this will do today. Until later.

 photo IMGP4019_e_zpsd3w3urzv.jpgI also assembled my seed table today too because I’m just that stubborn.

Ingredients

150-200g Sweet Potato
200g Quinoa Flour
2 Tbsp Flax Meal with 60ml Water or 1 Large Egg
1/2 Tsp Salt

Makes about 5 85g Servings.
Can be Frozen.
Cook from Frozen.

Method

1. Peel Sweet Potato, wrap in tinfoil and bake until soft enough to pierce with a knife. Mash with a fork in a bowl, cover with a tea towel and set aside.

2. While Sweet Potato is roasting add Flax and Water to a bowl and leave in the fridge for 10 minutes or until thick.

3. Add 100g Flour, Salt and Flax Egg to the Sweet Potato and stir together with a fork until everything is mixed. Start to bring together by hand while still in the bowl until a sticky dough is formed and then place on a working surface and start to knead. Add more flour, up to 100g, as needed until dough is no longer crumbly. Will take quite a bit of kneading.

4. Pinch off some of the dough and roll into a sausage shape about an inch thick, cut off 1/2 inch pieces (Or use a half Tablespoon to scoop up an even amount of dough), smoothing as needed, press with a fork and set aside, repeat until all dough is used up. Freeze on a greaseproof lined tray if not using right away.

5. When cooking bring a large pot of water to the boil and add at most a dozen Gnocchi at a time, when they float to the top they are done, about 5-7 minutes. Use a slotted spoon to remove the Gnocchi.

3 thoughts on “Quinoa Flour and Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Leave a Reply

