Sustainable Mini Resolutions, oh!, and Bread!

 photo IMGP4011_e_zpsllqcztjy.jpgI got expiring quinoa flour on the cheap, six boxes to be exact. Really cheap. Three months to use it. I was expecting a week. Yay!

Okay, I must confess, I’m…not perfect. No, stop, don’t weep gentle reader, you had to know at some point. I over filled my tin, I was over zealous can’t you just stop harping on about it! You what? You aren’t blaming me? Not one iota? Why, bless you, sweetest reader. All I ended up with was a slight spill and some tearing of the loaf, minor stuff, but it gets under my skin, it shouldn’t, really it shouldn’t. Thankfully I’m now set for Quinoa Bread. I had to use an extra egg as they were medium rather than larger, so I ended up having to weight the amount that was needed and match it as best I could. The joys of never buying bread, it’s been, maybe three years?, now since I bought bread or bread mixes. Now, the bread is just here because, well I wanted to see if it could be baked larger and yes it can, it just needs a larger tin. It does make it harder to slice as it bends a bit, but it didn’t break so that’s good, What, Dearest reader of my heart? Hurry up and get on with the post? All things in time…the point of the post? Um, yeah.

 photo IMGP4014_e_zpsdnhqfjyd.jpg“Slice it so they know you aren’t lying about it” Sure thing conscience.

This post is my addition to the deluge of New Year’s posts. Basically I’m not big on the all or nothing attitude that pervades this month, so I’m offering an experienced alternative: Small changes that I myself have made the previous year. Most will be dietary, but as we go through them, who knows? They’ll be little ways I’ve managed to get more good into my diet while still maintaining my weight and  health. Not lifehacks or tricks, just simple methods that I’ve created from practice and research (Screw-ups too). None of them will be for everyone, but they may, at the very least, help you build your own ideas.  Anyway onwards and upwards, or downwards as the case may be.

 photo IMGP4015_e_zpshmb7zgxw.jpg“Slice it more” Fine! “Tidy up” Nah.

Camomile Tea for after dinner: Self explanatory really. I tried mint, but the diuretic effect wasn’t something I wanted to deal with. I drink plenty, but even then it was drying me out. You could substitute any herbal tea here, look into what may be of greater benefit to you. The handy thing is when used as an after-dinner tea the habit is easier to form. I hated the taste at first, but I’ve gotten used to it. Not slagging it off tea lovers, I’m even going to grow my own if I can!

A Pint of Water in the Morning: Now, not everyone can glug a pint of water first thing in the morning, but any amount of water first thing is going to be beneficial. You may have to work up in increments to a large glass. You could also use the lemon in water tip, but histamine intolerant here so plain water is best for me.

Plant Impressions: Yeah, more water though-out the day. I actually drink a lot, I seem to need it, always have. Iinstead of grabbing a cuppa instead consider some water. I add some fruit-juice concentrate, bad for you I know, but it’s one part dilute to like 30 parts water, a veritable dribble in a litre of water. (Told ya, I ain’t perfect) I go through maybe five or six, maybe more if I count tea, litres of water a day. I also keep one handy near the computer, refilling as needed.

Plain Tea: Oh the days of sugar and milk tea with whole packets of biscuits….*Barfs* Excuse me, fat-days me really went to town on that. I’ve been drinking rooibos tea plain for the last few years. It’s much better than loading it up with all those extras. Try to find a tea you’ll enjoy and really experience the unadulterated taste. Try a selection to vary it up, but do be aware of the effect that the different teas can have.

Flaxseed Meal in Plain Yoghurt: A two-fer! I worked my way from unsweetened yoghurt to plain as there was added starch in the fruit ones, you’d probably be better with the fruit ones, no added sugar is naturally best. The flaxseed meal is a great help for anyone who needs fibre, lots of other good stuff too, though it’s debated how much of it is worthwhile, but…fibre!, you just have to work it in slowly and it pairs with the previous tip. You’ll need more water if you’re eating more fibre.

Cut Down on Soft Drinks: Do you know how much sugar, yadda yadda, you’re probably an adult, but I once messed up my stomach drinking a Pepsi a day, so, yeah, trust me, cut down. If you a celiac remember the artificial sweeteners in the diet ones can mess you up even more, they have an increased diarrhetic effect on some of us, though too much will do it regardless of your condition. I have maybe two or three a month, depends what I’ve been eating junkfood-wise. I’m not perfect, much better than I was and you know, the less I have the more I realise how addictive sugar can be. Actually, come to think of it, a fellow blogger is doing an experiment with sugar, sticking to the suggested guidelines, she explains it better, check it out at: Not So Sweet 16 I hope they won’t mind me mentioning it, it’s really interesting.

Hempseed in Rice: This is another two-fer, I’ll get to the other in a moment. Again hemp has benefits, it’s the fibre I was interested in primarily, but there are plenty of others. I eat a lot of high fibre foods so this worked out better than chia seeds as a little of those goes a long way and it’s easier to mistake doses. Just add it after cooking and resting.

Go Raw: Once in a while at least. I know there’s a raw diet, but I’m talking more along the lines of eating some foods raw rather than coking them. Like my Tahini Sauces, which feature raw garlic and raw tahini if you buy it that way, but at least I’m not cooking the tahini more so I’ll at least get more of the benefits and raw garlic is delicious. They also feature lemon that goes unheated. Little additions like this can be helpful and do so by varying up your diet.

Make It Fun: If, like me, you end up having to be a one-man restaurant then you’ll inevitably reach a burnout point. So what can you do? Well, I found music helped. I pop on some wireless headphones, cheap ones natch, blare out the music and get to work. It helped stop me dwelling on what I was doing and getting resentful at the need. I also found looking for new and exciting recipes, or crafting my own, when not necessary was really enjoyable. When you don’t have to, baking and cooking can be really fun, it’s easy to forget that it can exist both ways, the necessary cooking and baking can be coupled with experimentation, each building up the other. Lastly, I guess a bit of gardening wouldn’t go amiss. Fresh produce, whether it be herbs or something more challenging can be a great boon in the kitchen.

Keep A Food List: Yeah, not a diary. What you want on this list is the brands you can eat, the meals in your meal plan, little things you do regularly that help, allergies and intolerances etc. Really it’s up to you, but you’d be surprised how helpful having all this written out can be, where do you think I’ve taken the bones of this post from? Yup, my list. It doesn’t need to be complex or intricate, just things like: I will have camomile tea after meals, This brand of pasta, I will eat plain yoghurt three times a week etc. Writing down can help remind you and make you accountable when you fail. You’re going to fail, a lot, don’t worry, as long as you keep at it that is.

I think that’ll do this time. I hope I haven’t come across as a condescending jerk. This is just me, in all my simplicity. The wreck I was is long gone, but I’m still piecing together the person that I’m supposed to be now. It’s difficult, but I feel if all this can help someone like me then it’s been a bit more worthwhile. I’ll never go back, people say that, a lot, but I know I won’t. how? Well, that’s my secret, gotta have a few to keep things interesting, right? I have a lot of flour left so expect more recipes incoming. When the internet fails I’ll take up the slack and create them from scratch. Until later.

8 thoughts on “Sustainable Mini Resolutions, oh!, and Bread!

    1. Thank you. It’s wonderfully soft, not soggy as I thought it would be with all the water. It’s dry to the touch, but spongy. I think since the quinoa flour and the flax are heavy hitters when it comes to absorbing the bread doesn’t end up wet when baked. I’m still learning how it bakes, but I think I’m getting a handle on quinoa flour.

      I tried some fried in butter and it soaked up quite a bit and then crisped up. When toasted plain it really became too crumbly and dry. It seems that all quinoa flour yields very light baked good when moisture is present in sufficient quantities. I really must try it as a bread for French Toast, more for curiosity than anything else. I’ll keep testing it out and see what I can create.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am truly pleasantly surprised that you made it possible to bake bread as “bread”, and not as a savoury type of cake texture. I personally love quinoa taste and always include quinoa flour in yeast bread and pastry dough, as well as in best tasting dough for ravioli and dumplings. I am looking forward to bake your bread and taste it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s one thing I do strive for. I spent a long time eating very soft, mushy really, bread made from primarily flaxseed meal before I decided to learn how to bake with free-from flours. I’ve never wanted to go back to those kinds of breads, but they did serve their purpose, but thankfully I know more now. I hope it bakes well for you and I look forward to seeing the result.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Thanks so much for the link! I need to pick up some new teas. Been drinking it like crazy this week. Have you tried hemp hearts? I just picked up a bag and they are a nice addition to a salad for some extra fiber and Omega 3. Your quinoa bread looks fantastic. I’ve never been able to tolerate quinoa for some reason (some Celiacs can’t) and I’ve wondered if I don’t soak it properly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome. I use the hemp hearts myself, they call them hemp seeds here, everything seems to need a different name, it seems it isn’t confusing enough as is. Thank you. I’m okay with quinoa, but I did have trouble with millet so it’s probably a case of some celiacs being unable to tolerate certain seeds. As for soaking, it’s hard to say, I only give mine a quick rinse before cooking, it may be something you just can’t tolerate, sadly. Thank you for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

