Quinoa Flour Flatbreads

 photo 2015-12-29-763_e_zpsnqy3diiq.jpgNote taking while making always helps you keep all the pertinent information handy.

I know I have a recipe like this, but that’s oven baked. This is actually a egg version of my Yoghurt Flat-bread. I can’t tolerate dairy in meals, not much anyway, so I thought I’d try some Egg instead of the yoghurt. See, the yoghurt in the original is a binder, right?, so it’s 35g, double that and you’ve got the equivalent of a large egg and double the surrounding recipe, ditch the yoghurt and add an egg and viola you’ve got quinoa flat-breads for the dairy intolerant/free. It’s not so special when you peek behind the  curtain, it’s just a matter of knowing what role each ingredient plays in the recipe. You could probably use a double flax egg (One flax egg is about a small egg, so use two) in this recipe too, I’ll try it eventually.

One thing before I finish this up, I used Chestnut Flour to thicken my Slurry Curry (I’ll use Quinoa Flour too, you know, eventually) and I think it may be worth looking into a simple slurry style gravy using it. That curry is my tester for all kinds of thickeners, nothing special in itself, but useful nonetheless. You could get a similar effect with other flours, but as it stands right now chestnut isn’t blazing new trails in the baking world, at least not in my hands. Recipes still incoming, I just have to make sure I’m not having any reactions to the flour first. As for these flat-breads, they’re pretty nice, you lose the taste of the yoghurt, maybe you could add herbs, wrong time of year for fresh and I’m not buying any until I have too. Even dried spices would work well. I just cooked one, they cook about the same, maybe a little darker, but that could be the pan I was using. They taste fine, a slight crunch on the outer edges, soft in the centre. If you pan-fried them slowly in butter they’d probably crunch up more. (Oh! I tried my Quinoa Flour Bread toasted. Don’t do that, it just crumbled away, not bad just a waste) Only ate one as a test, hence the lack of another photo opportunity. I layered the rest in-between greaseproof paper circles and froze them. This changed enough from the original, so listing it as a variation would be too confusing so I’ll leave it separate. If I do anything further with this, with additions and what have you, it’ll be on this recipe rather than the yoghurt one.

 photo 2015-12-29-764_e_zpsnicwgspn.jpgI tried to take a photo of the cooked flatbread, but it fogged up and I had other things on the go. It’s brown and blistered. Hard to screw up.

So that’s that. I like quinoa flour, it’s enjoyable to work with, not as good as buckwheat, at least not yet. You know me if you’ve read any of my recipes, I like an all-of-one recipe to work from. All quinoa has it detractions, but it’s what I can eat and on the whole it works well with very few additions. Flaxseed meal would be my binder of choice when using quinoa flour, I have yet to try chia, I will…eventually. All things are eventual…unless I forget. I’m nothing special, but I like to think I’m practical and varied. Using just one flour in each recipe can be tricky, downright impossible in some cases, but I think it’s really helpful if, like, me there are a lot of common binders that you can’t eat. We all have to cover a different part of this eclectic collection of dietary needs and that way we can help the most people, I like to think so at least. I’d wish you a Happy New Year, but that’d be dull. Happy Naru’s Birthday! Well, it’s tomorrow, but wish her a Happy Birthday anyway, she won’t know, but I’ll get a kick out of it. Oh, yeah, she’s twelve and…a dog.

 photo 2015-09-17 04.26.14_e_zps8ukf5ef0.jpgNot that she seems to realise it. Happy Birthday Naru!

Ingredients

100g Quinoa Flour
1 Large Egg
1 Tbsp Water
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
Pinch Salt

Makes Six Small Flat-breads.
Can be frozen.

Method

1. Add dry ingredients to a bowl. In a separate bowl mix together the remaining ingredients and stir into the Flour with a fork until

everything has combined. Knead the mixture, adding a dash of Water as needed, until a sticky dough has been formed. Form Dough into a

ball, dust with Flour and cover in cling-film and leave in the fridge for half an hour. Dough will be firm to the touch, but very sticky

when worked.

3. Split the dough into six parts, dust each with Flour and roll out, on a well floured surface, into rough fairly thin circles. Lift with a spatula when transferring to the pan to prevent breaking.

4. Heat some Oil in a pan and on a high heat cook the Flat-bread for until browned and blistered then flip and do the same for the other side. Repeat for all Flat-breads. Brush with Olive Oil when cooked.

2 thoughts on “Quinoa Flour Flatbreads

  1. Hi dear neighbor, I hope you are fine. If I have neglected to visit you recently, it’s for a good reason: I have been busier than ever with physical therapy three times a week! Worth every minute of the pain endured. 😬
    You are still my Revered Reference when it comes to gluten-free flour baking! I have a question: can these flat breads be folded?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

