Baking a Better Quinoa Flour Bread

 photo IMGP3943_e_zpsova7t6pc.jpgYou hear that? It’s the sound of windows being opened.

I’ve gone back to my old experiment: Quinoa Flour Bread, not a loaf made with a smattering of quinoa flour and a mix of other flours, no, almost all quinoa with just a little flax. Nothing bothers me more than seeing a recipe named after a flour that barely constitutes a fraction of the bread. I suppose it’s a personal prejudice due to the fact I can’t use added starches (Like arrowroot or tapioca) so when I read a recipe with a name like “X-Flour Bread” I’m invariably disappointed. So I’m going to do what I always do, take it into my own hands and do what I can. This is a simple recipe, but considering it works I think that’s just fine.

 photo IMGP3944_e_zpskxdyksyc.jpgFive minutes out of the oven and cut with a steak knife. Not bad…

So as far as changes go we’ve upped the eggs, now it’s two large eggs for binding and lightness and we’ve got flaxseed to stabilize the loaf. I had a moment of panic when I added all the water without thinking, thankfully after resting it had been adsorbed by the flax and quinoa. I think this was part of the reason the bread is so light, yet not at all soggy or dense. Flax alone wouldn’t give you the kind of rise the eggs would and eggs alone wouldn’t give you the kind of hold that flax would. Flax absorbs water and it can help when a loaf is in need of moisture yet the flour being used can’t hold enough. This is the same idea as most of my other breads, but each flour needs a tweak to help it along. It’s partly guess work and partly experience.

 photo IMGP3947_e_zpslnt06wqa.jpgThen cut in half. That’s pretty decent, right?

So, once I got it in the tin and it was baking I noticed something strange. The colour. It’s yellow, the last flour I had was brown when baked. It was also bitter whereas this isn’t. I don’t mention brands much, but in this case I have to give credit to Biofair for their quinoa flour, it’s much better than the previous brand I tried. Just be careful and be sure it’s a Gluten Free version you’re using, it’s marked on the pack so it’s hard to mistake. I’m glad I didn’t have to toast it as I’ve heard it can help with bitterness, but I’ve never tried it. It’d have made this more time consuming than I’d have liked so I was glad to skip that step.

 photo IMGP3948_e_zpscm2foztx.jpgThen sliced while still steaming. That’s  a sign of a fairly good loaf.

So what did we end up with when it was sliced up? A lovely yellow loaf that was slightly crusty on the outside and had a firm, but spongy inside. A loaf that when cut hot barely left any crumbs. I’ve never managed to get my Buckwheat Bread this soft even with the addition of flaxseed for some of the flour. I can see this being great for soft sandwiches, it may even toast well as it’s really light and airy. I’m going to freeze this up and have it over time. I think that’s all I can say about this loaf. I’m really pleased with how it turned out and as far as the basic loaf recipes goes I don’t foresee a need to change it again. Just remember brands of flour can yield different results and it’s rare one flour can sub for another, although you’ll be told otherwise much too often. This is simple baking, but it’s versatile and healthy, just what I like. Now, I’ll update the old recipe and post the new one here too. Until later.

 photo IMGP3946_e_zpsvezs1plb.jpgIt has a crust, I don’t know why or how, but it looks nice doesn’t it? Crusts are really rare.

Ingredients

200g Quinoa Flour
25g Ground Flaxseed
200ml Water
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
2 Large Eggs
1/3 Tbsp Baking Soda
Pinch of Salt

Makes one loaf.
Can be frozen.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 175c (No Fan).

2. Grease (With Butter or Olive Oil) and line a 6×3 inch loaf pan.

3. In a large bowl mix together the Egg, Olive Oil and Salt. Add the Quinoa Flour, Flaxseed and Baking Soda and stir until combined, then add the Water and stir together until smooth. Rest for 5 minutes until batter has thickened. It will still be stirrable.

4. Pour batter into prepared tin and bake for 45-60 minutes, turning halfway if needed, until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean.

5. Cool in tin for 20 minutes, then remove and let cool completely on a wire-rack.

4 thoughts on “Baking a Better Quinoa Flour Bread

Leave a Reply

