Buckwheat Flour, Rice Flour and Flax Bread

 photo IMGP3925_e_zpspgw3ellr.jpgLaugh at my tiny loaf all you want, but it works.

I’m being pre-emptively bleak today, but stay with me I’ll try it explain why. I’ve just seen that the buckwheat flour I’ve been ordering online has just completely gone out of stock, with no promise of returning, now it could be that it’ll be back in the New Years, or that another brand will appear. I also have a fair few bags left, but here’s the problem: What if it doesn’t? What if I can’t get the flour that I’ve grown accustomed to? I’ve had the bottom fall out of my world on three separate occasions, first with Celiac disease, then after clawing my way out of a personal hell I fell foul to my nightshade intolerance which threw out nearly everything I had built up, then Histamine Intolerance and my troubles with starches and gums cropped up. Having to start over so much taught me one rule that I’ve lived hard and fast by: Be prepared for the worst. The reason I have so many recipes, the reason that I try everything possible with every ingredient is that I never know when I’ll lose a vital ingredient. I can’t buy breads, wraps or crackers, so I spent countless hours building up alternatives over the years. It has paid dividends.

If buckwheat goes for a while I’ll be prepared, I’ll be mad as hell, but I’ll be able to keep going. The one thing I always say is that you should accept that you may have to abandon taste and accept food that’s nutritious, if bland, if boring, if horrid. When I first started I said that I’d eat plain chicken on plain rice if I had to. Thankfully I know more about nutrition now, but that was the strength of will I summoned and that resolve has never wavered. This may be for nothing, but you never can be sure. As for the bread I’ve done a small loaf, a half, but it bakes the same as a full one, as is listed below, I’m almost 100% certain of that. This is more of a work in progress, not unlike the Quinoa Flour Bread, it’s edible, with some chia seeds on top you would probably match, or more likely exceed, the fibre of a full buckwheat and flax loaf, and yes this is just a simple replacement style recipe, but it needs the extra egg and flax to hold it together, they’re no longer optional. It’s soft, if somewhat dry and the texture of the rice flour adds a grittiness to it, that may just be my brand. Nothing great, but if push comes to shove and my buckwheat supply is cut off I may be using this to stretch what I have. Like I say it’s a work in progress, I hope I’ll continue to be able to buy my buckwheat, but you never know. This is my life, my struggle, but at least in sharing it it’s now helping others, or at least I hope it is. Until later.

Ingredients

100g Buckwheat Flour
70g Brown Rice Flour
30g Ground Flaxseed
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
2 Large Eggs
1/3 Tbsp Baking Soda
Pinch of Salt

Makes one small loaf.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 175c (No Fan).

2. Grease (With Butter or Olive Oil) and line a a 6×3 inch loaf pan.

3. In a large bowl mix together the Egg, Olive Oil and Salt. Add the Buckwheat Flour, Rice Flour, Flaxseed and Baking Soda and stir until combined, then gradually add Water and stir until a thick Batter has been formed.

4. Pour batter into prepared tin and bake for 40-60 minutes, turning halfway if needed, until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean.

5. Cool in tin for 20 minutes, then remove and let cool completely on a wire rack.

One thought on “Buckwheat Flour, Rice Flour and Flax Bread

Leave a Reply

