Green Rooibos Rice

I…don’t remember writing all that. I was engrossed in a murder mystery visual novel so maybe that’s taking precedence in my memory.

I just feel like typing blah blah blah over and over, a decidedly lazy day, but fear not dear staunch support of this humble blog I would never do that to you! (Not unless I could get away with it). I’ll delay this post to spread it all out a bit. This can also be found, amongst other recipes on the Wholegrain Basmati Page, which has a lot of recipes I’d forgotten I’ve have. This brain can only hold so much, like the fact that the baby was the murderer! (It wasn’t, really a shame).

So, what is Green Rooibos? It’s a tisane, ummm, it’s prepared like green tea, but, oh just Google it. All I know is it tastes better than green tea did to me, none of the weediness, just a light refreshing version of rooibos. My tea, or tisane, of choice. I contacted a company about the presence of gluten and was helpfully informed all their tea are gluten free, so I popped down to the shops and am, once again, enjoying a cup of “Green Red Tea”. The rice holds some of the taste of the tea, but there’s more of a salty sweet note due to the fruit and salt. I’m not sure how the Original holds up, but this was rather pleasant and one I’ll return to again. If anyone has tried a lot of green tea, I had one cup once, certainly no expert, then perhaps you’ll also try green rooibos and see how they compare. That’s it for a few. See you soon.

My Almond Curry has a new option too. Adding the Garam Masala at the end for a flavour boost.

Green Rooibos Rice

Ingredients

1/2 Cup of Wholegrain Basmati Rice
250ml Water
1 Green Rooibos Teabag
1 Tbsp Raisin/Sultanas
1/2 Tbsp Olive Oil or Butter
1/2 Tsp Curry Powder
1/4 Tsp Salt

Method

1. Steep the Teabag and Sultanas in boiling Water or 5-10 minutes depending on desired strength.

2. Add the Olive Oil and Curry Powder to the pot and cook for 1 minute on a low heat.

3. Add the Tea (Topping up to 250ml as necessary) and Sultanas and Rice the pot. Stir it together and turn the heat to high. Wait until the water boils and starts bubbling then turn the heat down to medium (3 on hob) cover and let it just sit there for 20 minutes.

3. After the 20 minutes is up, turn off the heat. Let it stand for another 10 minutes or so. After 10 minutes, lift the lid, add the Salt and then take a fork and fluff the Rice.

One thought on “Green Rooibos Rice

Leave a Reply

