Gingerbread Pumpkin Loaf

Dear kitchen God…Just kidding. I can’t pray to myself, can I? Humble, ain’t I?

Oh dear, oh deary deary me. I went to bed last night with the idea I should try to make this today. That was my first mistake, the second was forgetting I seem to have a head cold. So I woke up today and I seemed to be on the high seas because my stomach was spinning like an out of control washing machine. So I did the sensible thing, I took some pills and returned to bed…kidding. I don’t do pills and I’m too stubborn to say die. I just glugged some carob and honey in warm water, which I find really helps with nausea, especially anything caused by sinuses  and proceed to start this recipe. That was the third mistake, I forgot it was more work than the usual, it’s just a copy of my Gingerbread Muffin recipe with a few tweaks, but it was more work than anticipated.Woooo…

Lovely colour too. With a slight stickiness to the outside.

So there I as swaying in the metaphorical breeze and hoping this would work out. Thankfully it did. I may be an awful example of how to deal with sickness, but I’ve got the stubbornness of a mule, the constitution of a horse and not a little experience in the kitchen. So I muddled through, then after dinner ran up here to get this down before I forgot half of it. Seriously, that would happen, which would have been a shame because this turned out amazing. Not to brag, but my idea to include pumpkin was the best yet. It gave the gingerbread a lovely moistness, coupled with all that treacle and the little bit of brown sugar  which gave it the stickiness it needed, we have a real bonafide gingerbread loaf. It may even be more of cake than these usually end up, but I’ll stay with loaf. It’s like muffins and cupcakes, they are different and I hate to call one the other when it isn’t true. I was a dab hand at cupcakes back the the day. I’ll tell you about that someday when my stomach returns from orbit. Now go forth and eat gingerbread. I’m off to read about pigs and confidence men. What an exciting life I lead *Sigh*. Until later, take care. Oh yeah this is also on the BW Vegetable Bread page.

Gingerbread Pumpkin Loaf

Ingredients

200g Buckwheat Flour
200g Steamed Pumpkin Purée
120g Treacle
1/3 Tbsp Baking Soda
50g Light Muscovado Sugar
50g Butter
2 Medium Eggs
Water as Needed

For the Spice: (Or 4 Tsp Gingerbread Spice Blend)

1 Tsp Ground Ginger
1 Tsp Cinnamon
1 Tsp Ground Allspice
1/2 Tsp Ground Nutmeg
1/2 Tsp Ground Cloves
Pinch Black Pepper

Can be frozen.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 175c (No Fan).

2. Grease, with Butter, and line a 6×3 inch loaf pan.

3. Add the Butter and 30ml Water to a pot and heat on low until Butter has melted. Remove from the heat and let cool completely.

4. In a large bowl beat together, using an electric mixer, the Pumpkin, Egg, Treacle and Brown Sugar. Then beat in the cooled Butter. Finally add the Buckwheat Flour, Spices and Baking Soda and beat until combined, then gradually add Water as needed, stirring until a thick Batter has been formed.

5. Pour batter into prepared tin and bake for 60 minutes, turning halfway if needed, until dark brown and a skewer comes out clean. Cover for the final 15 minutes with greaseproof paper to prevent burning.

6. Cool in tin for 20 minutes, then remove and let cool completely on a wire rack.

One thought on “Gingerbread Pumpkin Loaf

Leave a Reply

