Banana Curry Sauce with Chicken

2017 Update: Due to a problem with Photobucket, see here, there will be a lot of recipes without photos. I will be slowly redoing the recipe pages, as best I can, but many other posts will be impossible to replace. I’m doing this in my own time, while continuing to update the blog with new recipes and posts. If you’d like to donate, any amount appreciated, you can do so here. The site will always be free, the recipes will never be locked behind a paywall, but this is a lot of additional work. I’m not demanding or begging, just putting it there so if you feel like repaying my hard work you have that option. I don’t make any money from the site, all that I do here is to help others, I couldn’t charge for that.

 

Tweaked from: Chicken With Banana Curry Sauce

I honestly have no idea if this really is Caribbean, I assumed there’d be more chillies if it were, but maybe it is. Either way it’s a really wonderfully simple and tasty recipe. There are two things to note: Firstly the colour differs because, I’m assuming (Lot of that out today, lots of asses being made out of all of us) that in the original the curry powder had paprika and me being nightshade free means mine lost some of the colour that spice imparts the sauce with. Secondly, I did make this in a saucepan for convenience sake, it’s been quartered, I only had ordinary chicken breasts and, honestly, my gut says it wouldn’t affect it to enough of a degree to change the dish.

Cooking is instinct, baking is science and this is one messed up smoothie.

Okay I should probably address the yellow elephant in the room. Yes, there is indeed a banana in this and yes I thought it sounded disgusting too. Now maybe you’re better informed on the whole banana curry debate, I’ve never once had a banana in a curry, nor even in a savoury dish, but there’s a part of me that never got to try so much different kinds of foods so now I’ll try anything once that I can eat. You’ll probably want to know how this tastes, right? Yeah….I’m going to start a new paragraph just to mess with you.

You got your raw chicken in my smoothie! You got your smoothie in my raw chicken!

So the taste, right, well, the smell is actually really pleasant (Sorry! Not Really!). The taste reminded me of something, it was a mild curry taste, a slight hint of sweetness from the banana, you might be best to go for a slightly ripe one, err on the side of green, too sweet may throw off the rest, but it reminded some part of my brain of former times. You see back in the fat-days I used to eat this thing called take-out, yeah, someone would cook food for me and I would pay them. Wild times. One of the things I remember fondly was this cheap Chinese shop curry sauce, it was probably just spices, wheat-flour and water. Cheap as chips and on chips (I vaguely remember those!) that’s what this was like! Yeah, strange I admit, maybe the coconut milk I usually use drowns out the taste of the curry powder, but here it came out in all its glory.

So, yup, this is a really nice simple curry sauce. You could ditch the chicken and just pour it over whatever suits, even replace out the butter for a vegan option. One thing I will say is that you should swish out the blender with the remaining water, that way there’s no waste. Sure it’s a simple trick, but it is useful. I’m just using a single serve smoothie blender, but a food-processor would work too. If all else a fork and some elbow grease would maybe work. It’d be lumpy, but edible. I’ll definitely come back to this recipe in future. This one’s a keeper. Oh yeah, for the banana look for a large, look for a small and go for one in-between, there’s no point weighing it, just eyeball it.

Ingredients

2 Chicken Breasts, Chopped
1 Medium Banana
200ml Water
1 Tbsp Butter
1 Tbsp Lime Juice
Pinch Lime Zest
1/2 Tbsp Curry Powder
1/2 Tsp Ground Coriander
1/4 Tsp Ground Yellow Mustard Seed
1/4 Tsp Salt
1/8 Tsp Freshly Ground Black Pepper

Optional: Fresh Parsley to serve.

Method

1. Add everything, but half the Water and Chicken, to a blender and blitz until smooth. Add more Water if needed to facilitate blending.

2. Add Sauce, Chicken and remaining Water to a large saucepan, stir it all together and heat on hight until sauce starts to bubble, then reduce to a simmer and cook, stirring occasionally, for 20-25 minutes or until chicken is fully cooked and sauce has reduced to desired consistency.

2 thoughts on “Banana Curry Sauce with Chicken

  1. Pingback: No Brand Squash |

  2. Pingback: Matchless YUM | Pep's Free From Kitchen

Comments are closed.