Squash Chicken

Pumpkin. Squash. You say potato, I say how dare you and what were we doing again?

Tweaked for a nightshade free version from The Scent Of Oranges.

Just a few things before I get onto this new recipe. Firstly I’m having some computer trouble. Not to worry, I think I’ve sorted it, but you never can tell, I’ll just leave it out there in-case I can’t get onto the site for a while. It should be fine, I can fix most computer troubles, I just really hate having to do it. Fun times, any way, some good news! I now have in my possession one Turk’s turban, another harlequin (Or a festival squash, I’m not 100% sure), one medium sized pumpkin and two butternut squashes. I had a group of cashiers ogling my Turban, I think they expected it to stay there for show rather than someone actually buying it. They really don’t know me. So you can look forward to some new recipes and some cool photos. I’m aware I promise that a lot and there is usually a delay, but it’s just me and I can only use/eat/store so much at a given time, so things do get put on the long finger. I usually get around to everything, I think. I’ll prep these tomorrow, steamed and mashed probably, then freeze them and use them at a later time. I’m going to have a hard time getting to the flesh of the TT, but I’m really excited.

It’s pretty watery to begin with, but it’ll dry out after a while and thicken up lovely.

Today we have another squash recipe. A savoury one no less. It’s actually quite hard to get recipes for meals with all my restrictions, I have quite a few, but when looking it takes a long time to find something new. If it ever seems like there’s more baking than cooking that’s probably the reason why. It’s easier to vary breads and buns than to reinvent and create savoury recipes. I do try, that’s why I was glad I found this. You can see the additions I made to make it nightshade free, all of which really help bring out the warm flavours of he spices. I think it’s the only one of my pan recipes, excepting the Madura Chicken, that doesn’t use oil to fry the chicken, instead it heats in the squash sauce and gradually gets coated in it. I had it with quinoa, but I think it’d fare better with rice as it is a strongly flavoured dish. If you can have nightshades then check out the original, it also uses pumpkin, but until today I’ve never had a pumpkin before. If I could get the canned stuff, which I can’t, I still couldn’t eat it because of my histamine intolerance. See, this is why cooking is harder, I still have like 50 dinners, but still. Any way, see you soon, I’ll have some cool squash ideas and photos.

Ingredients

2 Chicken Breasts, Chopped
100g Smooth Squash Purée
60ml Chicken Stock
1/4 Tsp Black Pepper
1/4 Tsp Ground Ginger
1/4 Tsp Coriander
Pinch of Cloves, White Pepper, Salt
2 Cloves Garlic, Grated

Method

1. Add everything to a large saucepan, stir it all together and heat on hight until sauce starts to bubble, then reduce heat to medium and cook, stirring occasionally, for 15 minutes or until chicken is fully cooked and squash has reduced and coated the chicken. If spice is too strong add a squirt of honey to mellow it out.

One thought on “Squash Chicken

Leave a Reply

