Buckwheat Hobnobs Take Three: The Final Hobnobbing

Crunchy and slightly chewy. No longer spreading all over the tray. Today is a good day.

So the recipe is updated on the Buckwheat Hobnob Page, we’ve been here once before this and now we can finally let this recipe rest. This is now the seventh quinoa flour recipe and the second last. I only have 50g of quinoa flour left so I’ll have to decide how to use it carefully before taking the final plunge. That’s later, right now you’re wondering what it has to do with these biscuits. Onwards and upwards.

Or downwards in this case. Fresh out of the oven, maybe I’d give them a little longer the next time.

My one gripe with the buckwheat hobnobs is that they spread way too much and with a reworked recipe I lost some of the crunch that the first instalment  had, now thanks to quinoa flour we have the best of both worlds and a recipe closer to the original then ever before. The reason I used quinoa flour was that I noticed it held better in baked goods like cookies than other flours I’ve used, perhaps it’s the absorbent nature of quinoa that helps it hold, I really can’t say, but it really raises it in my esteem. These aren’t 100% buckwheat any more, but I think it can be forgiven as the crunch is still thanks to the buckwheat flakes. If you’d like you may be able to substitute quinoa flakes, but I’m not sure how well that’d work, oats would be closer to the original.

These were given no quarter. They went on the small tray, left unchilled, pressed close together and into a hot oven, to spread at their own peril.

The taste remains mostly unchanged, there is a slight bitterness because of the quinoa flour, which may possibly be avoided by washing, roasting and grinding your own flour. They are no longer flat, which brings a better bite and texture to the biscuit. I’d like the bottoms to bake more, they wouldn’t flip hen just baked as they’re too brittle and I’m not sure returning them to the oven after cooling would be advisable, but that’s a small compliant, one which might be rectified with a little more time or heat. Now that’s it for day. It’s all on the recipe page, so check it out to see how the recipe evolved over time. One more recipe then the next time I use quinoa flour it’ll be my own, ground fresh. See you all later, have fun baking and cooking or even just looking.

Leave a Reply

