Quinoa Flour and Yoghurt Flatbreads

Flatbreads and Korma. That’s a thing, right? Yeah, sure it is. It’s been a while since I even espied a takeaway.

You know what funny, and by funny I mean depressing, is the fallacy that weight-loss is only possible through starvation and how prevalent and ingrained that idea has become. You’ve seen what I eat, how I eat and I like to think I’ve shared a little of my philosophy throughout these posts. I’m over a year stable after massive weight-loss and still hold steady so take my word on that basis. Starvation, small portions and deprivation are short-term measures for weight-loss, but the damage they can do is long-term. Every time someone sees how I eat they can’t accept it, they think there’s some trick and that’s a horrible way to run a world. We’ve got to learn about portion control, nutritional value and individual needs as every body is different, in both meanings of the word body. What I need to fuel myself isn’t going to suit you and what you need won’t probably help me. I see so many Celiacs and other allergy and intolerance sufferers making basic mistakes and I just want to shout at them, but I know that’s not the right way. All I can do is share recipes, a few thoughts here and there and even, when feeling I won’t do any harm with it, some advice. This is apropos of nothing, but I just felt like getting it off my chest. Remember we’re all students of life, until the day we shuffle off this mortal coil we can change and grow and learn and pull our heads out of the sand. Sure it’s embarrassing to own up to the fact that we know near nothing about something as basic as food and nutrition, but once you get over that you find there’s a world out there yet unexplored and a you that has yet to be, a better, perhaps happier, healthier you. Anyway, onto the flatbread.

Yeah, this is still a food blog. You’ll forgive a bit of a ramble, right? Get back here!

These are halved and slightly tweaked from: Please Pass the Recipe. I keep seeing how quinoa flour tortillas and flatbreads are supposed to be flexible, but I have yet experience it myself. These actually do bend slightly more than I’ve seen, but I did use low-fat yoghurt so maybe full would have been better. It could also be the flour itself, as you may or may not know there can be worlds of difference between different brands of free-from flours. In all honesty I didn’t mind if these were  bendable, I just like the idea of an all quinoa flour flat bread and I was curious to see if it would work like Buckwheat and Yoghurt did, it wasn’t quite the same, but I liked the taste nonetheless. They had a soft texture and the quinoa flavour wasn’t that strong. The blistering does seem to impart something to the taste, hard to say what, but it was enjoyable. I did have to roll these out between greaseproof again as they kept tearing. That’s really all there is to say, a nice flatbread on the whole and one I can’t really find fault with. This is my sixth quinoa flour recipe, I have about two others left to try and that’ll finish the two small bags. Okay, that’s it for now, thanks for reading and take care.

Ingredients

50g Quinoa Flour
35g Low Fat Natural Yoghurt
1 Tbsp Warm Water
1 Tsp Olive Oil
Pinch Salt

Makes Three Small Flatbreads.

Method

1. Add dry ingredients to a bowl. In a separate bowl mix together the remaining ingredients and stir into the Flour with a fork until everything has combined. Knead the mixture, adding a dash of Water as needed, until a sticky dough has been formed. Form Dough into a ball and cover in cling-film and leave in the fridge for half an hour. Dough will be firm to the touch, but very sticky when worked.

3. Split the dough into three parts and roll out, between two sheets of greaseproof paper, into rough fairly thin circles. Handle carefully when transferring to the pan.

4. Heat some Oil in a pan and on a high heat cook the Flatbread for until browned and blistered then flip and do the same for the other side. Repeat for all Flatbreads. Brush with Olive Oil when cooked.

4 thoughts on “Quinoa Flour and Yoghurt Flatbreads

Leave a Reply

