Quinoa Flour and Almond Cookies

I didn’t bother with the filling, though it sounds wonderful, I just went with some icing sugar, water and Chai Masala Spice Blend. (I need to remember to bold links to make them stand out.)

Halved from: Healthy Cookies – Quinoa and Almond Flour Cookies

Just one unrelated story before we start. I seem to keep doing this, don’t I gentle reader? Surely you’ll forgive me, right? I have cookies you know?  Okay, all kidding aside, the little story I wanted to tell you is this: You know my now famous Hokkaido Pumpkin Bread, what?! Did you not see my name in a Japanese spam post on Twitter, I’m an international success! Or rather, you know the bread just one post down that perhaps no one else has tried? Well, two people have. My Mother tried it and enjoyed it so much she made her own using self-raising wheat flour and then made another batch, sugar free this time, for our diabetic neighbour. There wasn’t much difference in taste without the sugar, but the bread was softer without the buckwheat flour according to her. It also had a stronger orange hue. Always a lovely boost to the ego when someone tries an original recipe and likes it. Now one last thing, I was thinking of posting a squash preparation guide as I have a third pumpkin to carve up and thought, although not a difficult task, it may be useful for anyone inexperienced in squash prep. It’ll be a Hokkaido Pumpkin again, but I’ll give tips for all kinds of squash. If you’d like to see it just drop a comment below, I’ll probably do it regardless of interest, but if there’s something particular you’d like to know or have me include just say so and I’ll see what I can do.

Yeah… same dough. Firm to roll, mush to work. That’s why they look lovely before I move them. Afterwards they look like an earthquake hit during a blackout.

I skipped the filling on these and just went with the aforementioned mixture, but check out the original recipe as it sounds lovely. I also went half as there was plenty for me in just half. Now there are two major points I should mention, first the dough is fiddly, but if you take your time you should be able to get perfectly shaped cookies that present wonderfully. I wasn’t inclined to bother, they’d taste the same so I took the lazy route. Secondly I find myself again disliking honey in baked goods, I can’t say why, but I find it jarring, it’s not that it was too sweet, it’s just a personal thing. I do wonder how maple syrup would fair as I think I used it in a similar recipe before (Edit: Yup, here), it would affect  the colour and possibly the baking so if you do use it do so with caution. Now there is one thing I have to draw your attention to: The Texture: It’s wonderful, somewhere between a soft cookie and a firm biscuit, it’s just amazing. Not much else to say, this is the second last recipe for quinoa flour I have sitting here and after that I’ll have 125g left, but I have no recipes to use it in yet. As they say: All good things come to those who Google.

Sixteen or fifteen and one huge mound of a cookie. More delicate hands than mine would be needed to make these more attractive. That’s it for now. See you soon.

Ingredients

75g Almonds
65g Quinoa Flour
50g Honey
2 Tbsp Coconut Oil, Solid
1/2 Tsp Baking Powder

Makes 16 Cookies.

Method

1. Pre-heat oven to 150c (Fan) and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Add dry ingredients to a bowl, shake together and mix in Coconut Oil with a fork until fully incorporated. Then add the Honey, a little at a time, until a crumbly dough that holds together when pressed has been formed. Roll into a ball, dough will be firm and dry to the touch, wrap in cling-film and leave in the fridge for half and hour.

3. Roll out the dough between two sheets of greaseproof paper to about 1/4 inch thickness and cut out using a cookie cutter. Place each cookie on the prepared tray.

4. Bake for 10-12 minutes until a golden brown colour. Remove from the oven and let rest on the tray for 10 minutes, cookies will firm slightly as they cool. After 10 minutes move to a wire-rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

