Hokkaido Pumpkin Cinnamon Bread or Natural Born Weeaboo

I’m starting to put the final photo first as when the link is shared it looks better.

When you’ve got something called a Hokkaido Pumpkin you know it’ll be hard to resist making terrible Anime pun and jokes. I’ll keep it to a minimum I swear. Now as your Senpai it behooves me to tell you all I know about the Hokkaido Pumpkin. Well, firstly it’s actually a squash, but then again so are all pumpkins, I guess all Pumpkins are squash, but not all squash are pumpkins, I think. Secondly it’s, er, filled with seeds, seriously, it’s a cornucopia of seeds. It’s heavier than a Butternut but you can eat the skin if it isn’t too damaged. It smells somewhat reminiscent of watermelon when raw, which due to food poisoning from a watermelon made me queasy, I know, I know, I was pretty early on in my not eating everything time, I’m surprised that’s all I did to myself. The taste is slightly sweeter than a butternut, it’d probably be sweeter if roasted, I just steamed it as I like to retain the moisture for bread. So, what else, oh! Yeah. I never heard of this until today…probably should have started with that, huh?

My Harlequins are still growing so I’ll keep buying squash for another while. Not that I care if you read this post you baka.

I peeled this and cut it up, now I still have another 500g of purée in the freezer for other projects. Just the bread today. It’s not something you need a Hokkaido Pumpkin (Also known as a Red Kuri, but this one may be a variant or hybrid) for, you could do with any orange, sweet fleshed squash, be it pumpkin or butternut, but when life gives you a Red kuri you make something in a hurry. Please don’t unfollow me due to puns!

There was nearly 200g of seeds and about 800g of flesh. The outer skin is really thin, a potato peeler took it off in one go.

The bread is just another variation on my Buckwheat Vegetable Bread, but with the raisins and cinnamon it becomes something really special. The whole recipe is on the page and I’ll let you check it out there rather than reposting the whole thing again. I think the squash even helped impart a different taste than using butternut. There’s supposed to be a lot of health benefits in dried fruit and cinnamon, couple that with the lack of butter and the tiny bit of sugar, not forgetting the squash and buckwheat flour and you’ve got a loaf that’s loaded with the good stuff.

The seeds were a tad tough, probably due to the squash being old or I assume it was as all the seeds were no longer viable for planting. Yes, I checked, I don’t know what I’d do if they grew. Thankfully they were so plentiful I don’t really mind chewing.

I ditched the hemp this time as I didn’t think the loaf would hold together with hemp and fruit, it may have, but better safe than sorry. I have another idea with squash that actually was a failure before, but if re-worked may become something new. That’ll be another day. Right now I have to look into using the seeds for something other than snacking and I still have quinoa flour recipes incoming so stay tuned for that. So that’s it today, a simple loaf that even people not on a gluten free diet liked. I do think it could be done with plain flour if you weren’t on a gluten-free diet, I’m not sure, but drawing on my old wheat-based experience I think it could work. Maybe some intrepid blogger will try it out. Maybe than senpai will notice you. Until next time!

It has a really lovely orange hue. It’s also full of fibres that needed to be washed twice to get all the seeds loose.

5 thoughts on “Hokkaido Pumpkin Cinnamon Bread or Natural Born Weeaboo

Leave a Reply

