Buckwheat Piadine

Firm to the touch and sticky when worked. I’m starting to learn the eccentricities of quinoa flour, I’m just not yet at the stage of being able to utilise them.

I just thought I’d start this off on a completely unrelated topic. Chamomile tea. Like conversations this gets off to a better start in my head. I’ve been drinking chamomileĀ  tea after meals for the last few months, at first as the majority tea in a blend, then after I realised it was in there and it was helpful I started just drinking it plain. I’ve always relied on the trinity of Peppermint, Chamomile and Ginger for stomach problems be they the distant memory, that still haunts my recollections, of glutening or the sad side-effects of massive weight-loss, some day I’ll get sorted, but I never thought to use them as a preventive. Now I’d hate to come across as one of those bloggers claiming magical remedies and cure-alls, all I have is my own experiences to back it up and I’m not claiming anything that isn’t already common, well common-ish, knowledge, but I have found the tea to be of real benefit, sure I keep to a strict diet and keep everything in tight controlled amounts, but the tea has been a real boon in helping with external factors I can’t control. It’s supposed to help relax the digestive system and also help as an anti-histamine, the former I can attest to personally and I hope it helps with the latter, but that’s harder to pin down. This is apropos to nothing in particular, but I thought I’d share as even though I never it’s benefits I never thought of adding it in as part of my routine. I’m glad I did now, any way, just though I’d share, back to the recipe.

Keep it in a neat even circle or it’ll break. It’ll crack regardless, even if it breaks it’ll taste fine.

Ah, piadine, that old Italian flat bread, that much beloved by generati…I’m lying, I never heard of it until I stumbled across it here: Buckwheat Piadine. It makes a nice plain flat bread that with something spiced or sauced really works well, but by itself is rather boring. Anything spicy or marinated would be wonderful with this any of the Lebanese recipes here would be great with it. There are so many foods I never ate, it’s funny discovering all these after I find out I can’t eat so much. The only thing I added to the recipes was to flour your hands, this dough is sticky when worked and wouldn’t get off my hands, hence the reason I rolled it in my hands rather than working it. I halved the recipe and ended up with two decent flat breads. This is of course another of our quinoa flour recipes. Simple, but nice to have.

I tided up the edges and it didn’t break the second time. I’d say it’s softer than an all Buckwheat Tortilla so there is some difference between the two recipes even if they look similar.

Ingredients

50g Buckwheat Flour
32g Quinoa Flour
1/4 Tsp Baking Soda
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
2 Tbsp Milk
2 Tbsp Water

Makes Two Medium Flat Breads.

Method

1. Add dry ingredients to a bowl, shake together and then stir in the Milk and Olive Oil with a fork until everything has combined. Knead the mixture, adding a dash of Water as needed, until a sticky dough has been formed. Form Dough into a ball by rolling in floured hands. Dough will be firm to th et touch, but very sticky when worked.

3. Split the dough into two parts and roll out, between two sheets of greaseproof paper, into rough fairly thin circles. Handle carefully when transfering to the pan.

4. Heat some Oil in a pan and on a medium heat cook the Piadine for until lightly browned then flip and do the same for the other side. Repeat for all Piadine. Best served warm.

2 thoughts on “Buckwheat Piadine

Leave a Reply

