Microwave Quinoa Flour Cake

One time, two times, three times a microwave cake.

Well, I’m about 200g and three recipes in, one failure which I’ll be retrying as a similar recipe has popped up in my searches that when done properly will be the same as when the other failed, I’m confusing me too, so getting back to today’s recipe. We’re back in microwave territory and visiting an old friend  that started life as a vegan buckwheat cake and thanks to the addition of an egg became something that’d make anyone reconsider the microwave’s usefulness when baking.

I’d love to barrel ahead and bake as much as possible, but it’s just me eating all this and even then still I keep having to stop myself from going overboard. I’d have words with me if I was me.

So, I admit, after the edible, but pungent bread and the failed tortilla (Me fail? Sure, but I always learn something, that’s the ticket) I didn’t go into this without any  reservations, but I have recipes to try and a limited supply of flour to make the most of so I plunged head first into the somewhat known. We’ve been through Buckwheat and Rice Flour. I did worry about quinoa, it”s dense and there’s no denying the strong aroma. By now you’re wondering if I’m grimacing or grinning and without further ad…kidding. It was really amazing, yeah, it was probably the closest to a traditional sponge I’ve ever eaten with free-from flours. As an aside, not to brag, but in my wheat-based baking days I knew my sponges and I wouldn’t apply the appellation without being fully certain it was deserved. It was light, but without the resistance of the rice flour, it was sweet, but without the grittiness that sometimes comes from buckwheat and sugar’s joining, a knife could just glide through it. It’s also incredibly light, yet stable. I’m not saying it’ll rock the foundations of the baking world, but I’d call it as good a cake as I’ve eaten, texture-wise, in a long time. If you took some initiative you could make something wonderful from this. Microwaved or not this is something worthy of note.

I just went for Peanut Butter and Cherry Jam. Initiative is one thing, me being hungry is another.

I’ll hopefully have one more recipe before the week’s end. I’m now nearing the end of my first bag of quinoa flour, if they all turn out this well, than we’d really be in business. Regardless, thanks for reading and happy baking.

Ingredients

45g Quinoa Flour
7g Ground Flaxseed (1 Tbsp)
1 Tsp GF Baking Powder
1 Large Egg
50ml Milk
2 Tbsp Sugar
Dash Vanilla Extract
Method

1. Grease microwave safe bowl with Olive Oil.

2. Whisk together the Egg, Milk, Vanilla Extract and Sugar. Then Whisk in the Flour, Flax and Baking Powder. Batter will be smooth and runny. Pour into greased bowl.

3. Cook on full heat for 2 1/2 minutes. Cake should be springy to the touch and will triple in size. Place plate on top of the bowl and turn out. Let cool slightly and serve.

Variations

Sticky Gingerbread

For the Cake: Use Brown Sugar. Add 30g Treacle alongside side Egg and Milk. Add 1/4 Tsp Ground Cinnamon, Ginger, Allspice, 1/8 Tsp Ground Nutmeg, Cloves and a pinch of Black Pepper along with Flour.

For the Sauce: Add 25g Brown Sugar and 1/2 Tbsp Water to a saucepan. Keeping stirred, heat on a medium-high heat until Water has evaporated and Sugar has thickened slightly and started to Bubble. Remove from heat and stir in 1 Tbsp Butter and a dash of Vanilla Extract. Return to the heat and cook until everything has combined and thickened slightly, should take a few minutes at most. Pour over sliced Gingerbread.

4 thoughts on “Microwave Quinoa Flour Cake

Leave a Reply

