I Say! Scones and Jam, what?

If P.G Wodehouse has taught me anything it’s that adding what to the end of your statements makes it more English, what. See? Mind you, I still think of scones as Irish as I grew up eating them freshly baked, covered in jam, or fresh and hot with butter, and big mugs of tea. Great big brutes that you could twist to separate, that’s considered the sign of a properly baked scone, no need for a knife to separate the two sides. You can’t go back, but it’s nice to make these recipes a little closer to the ones you loved, isn’t it?

A fancy glass pastry-cutter is a must. Or as most refer to it: A drinking glass. An old trick, but always a handy one.

We’re back once again to our pretty great Buckwheat Scones recipe, this time I used flax to replace some of the buckwheat flour, as in my Buckwheat Bread (There are so many hyper-links in these posts it’s probably clogging up some part of the internet) in the hopes that the flax would make it softer and perhaps closer to the scones I remember. They came out somewhere between the two, the scones were softer and lacked the hard crust, which when fresh was a shame, but was preferable when cool as they didn’t crumble as much. The inside was slightly light, but not that much to be noticeable. So on the whole I’d be happy eating them either way, but if you wanted to get a boost of fibre the flax version would be beneficial. I added some sultanas too, I didn’t have raisins, but they’ll work as well. They baked well, I was worked they’d be too hard and underdone, as the oven is really hot to bake the scones in the first place. The recipes has been updated. I’ll return to it in time again, but I’m now hunting down quinoa recipes to make the most of a few bags of flour I’ll soon be in possession of.

I’ve always known these as Currany-Buns (Currant buns). I prefer them plain, but I do like the dried fruit in my Treacle Bread recipe.

One last thing, I actually neglected to add the sugar and had to knead some into the dough as I was working it on the counter, but it seems to me that the sugar isn’t a vital part of the structure of the dough so if needed you could probably ditch it entirely. You may want to add some dried fruit or even fresh (May be best to freeze it first to prevent it going everywhere) to add a little sweetness, but even plain they’d be fine. I admit I like some sweetness, but the more I’ve cut down on my sugar the more I notice how little I need to use it. I know from experience it wreaks havoc with the brain in large doses, but I like some sweetness from sugar and a little doesn’t seem be doing me much harm. Everything in moderation and all that. One day I may look into modifying some recipes to sugar-free versions, I could tag recipes already sugar free, but it seems silly to tag curries and pasta so I’ll wait until I can tag the baked section. Everything someday, eh?

I whipped (Or rather splattered everywhere, myself included) some Cherry Chia Jam. All you need do is use some water to boil and soften the fruit and then blend it until smooth. It’s great for fruit with little juice.

Leave a Reply

