Turkey, Tortillas and…Tutter Tut Tuash?

Don’t say what you think it looks like…really. Mercifully it tastes much better than it looks.

Yeah, Thinking of reasonable or even semi-humorous titles seems to have gotten away from me today. Just a few little interconnected little posts today, nothing much to report, but a few things worth sharing regardless. This is probably going to devolve into a session of Wouldn’t-that-be-great. There are always a multitude of ideas that I’d love to try, but can’t for one reason or another, but I like to share them as you never know who’ll take the egg-ball and run to the home goal and get touched…okay, I’ll leave out the sports metaphors.

Half an hour to pick all those teeny tiny thyme leaves. Worth it, but man is it annoying. The Parsley was about ten seconds work.

So I decided to try a ground turkey version of my BNS Cottage Pie, which has already been updated with the tweak. As you can see from the top photo it’s something like a chicken pot pie filling, although in saying that I’ve never eaten a chicken pot pie, but I did see it on TV once so there’s that. I used smoked rashers and with the milder turkey you could really taste them. I also used a chicken stock cube and fresh herbs which always pop wonderfully in my Cashew Butter Gravy. I would have liked to top the lot off with a cheesy sweet potato mash, but I can’t eat that much sweet potato at once. I guess I’ll leave it up to an intrepid reader to tackle the Thanksgiving Cottage Pie I can only speculate about. Perhaps you could go all American and top it with marshmallows! Kidding, even without gelatin intolerance that still sounds terrible. I have also thought of making it vegetarian using quinoa to replace the meat.

Oh you tricky, fickle, treacherous dough.

I had some squash reserved for a little experiment that I’ll admit went awry. You may, or may not, know that mashed vegetables can replace an egg in certain recipes. In “certain” recipes is the keyword there. It’s 1/3 of a Cup or 70g Butternut Squash for each egg. I added it to my Buckwheat Tortillas recipe in place of a Flax Egg and although I used the equivalent of a whole egg the mixture came together wonderfully. It was dry enough to handle with ease and it had a lovely orange hue. Yeah, then things went annoyingly bad.

I’ll just roll it out. What’s the worse that can happen…*Sighs*

You’re probably wondering what went wrong with this wonder-dough that didn’t require additional flour. The heat of my hands, that’s what. As soon as I started to knead it it started to turn to goo and stick like crazy. I kept adding flour, but I couldn’t get it to roll smooth and thin. I was tempted to just toss it and start again, but I’m stubborn and I refused to give in. I managed to roll it and cut it out, lumpy and uneven, but that was a concession I had to make. I did manage to get some tortilla chips out of of it, but the work required makes it pointless to try with squash purée again. There was a slight taste to the chips and perhaps you could use a flax egg in conjunction with the squash à la BNS Gnocchi, but I don’t think it’s worth it. Perhaps you could make it using Pumpkin Purée and some Pumpkin Spice, but I’ll stick to the flax egg or yoghurt for now.

The dogs and I didn’t mind eating these, it was better than losing my rag and tossing the dough.

That’s about it today. I did make another batch of the Turkey and Quinoa Meatballs, this time I puréed the onion as I didn’t enjoy the chunks of onion in the meatballs. I also baked some Buckwheat and Flax Bread. One thing you learn after a while is to prepare similar recipes together when cooking a big batch, prepping the same ingredients all at once can save you so much time and baking bread whilst everything else is simmering away can make for a very productive day in the kitchen. Less multi-tasking and more clever utilisation of your time. So take it easy and I’ll see you next update.

Leave a Reply

