Turkey and Quinoa Meatballs

I thought it’d be an even pound, but nope. I still had to fiddle with the recipe.

Adapted from: Baked Turkey Quinoa Meatballs

You know what’s funny? I can’t ever remember making meatballs and I only remember eating them once. My memory is a little fuzzy thanks to the coeliac disease, amongst other things, so maybe I have had them more often, but I certainly haven’t made them while on this dietary regime (Sounds better than diet, right?). So what better when turkey mince (Or ground turkey, which sounds like you dropped it to me) pops up on special offer? Although, I’ve never even seen it in-stock before. As with all things I have to go with the flow and ebbs of the supermarkets stock so I decided why not?

I’ll try a full batch later on. I did try one as a test, but my diet is like clockwork and I can’t gum up the works by eating things out of order.

As you can imagine I needed to find a recipe that not only adheres to my dietary needs, but also one that matches up to my current pantry (Er, cupboard) stock. Once I remember quinoa as a substitute for breadcrumbs I lucked onto a recipe that could be adapted. The mixture seemed a tad soft, but I persevered and tossed a meatball in the pan and it firmed up wonderfully as it cooked. It has a nice herby taste that works well with the turkey and you can’t even notice the quinoa. These would be best in a sauce, but I’m not one to tell anyone how to eat. You can do as you will with them, like that book of Steinbeck’s once said: Thou Mayest.

One restaurant sized portion…*Sniggers*

Ingredients

350g Turkey Mince, Lean
1/2 Cup Cooked Quinoa
1/8 Large Yellow Onion, Chopped
2 Cloves Garlic, Grated
1 Small Egg
1 Tbsp Fresh Parsley, Chopped
1/8 Tsp Basil
1/8 Tsp Oregano
Salt and Pepper to Taste

Method

1. Add Everything to a bowl and mix together, by hand, until fully combined. Mixture will be soft, but will hold if squeezed together.

2. Scoop out 1 Tbsp worth of the mixture and form into a ball, repeat until all the mixture is used up. If not using all the Meatballs, place on a lined tray and freeze, when fully frozen transfer to freezer bags.

3. Heat some Olive Oil in a pan and then add the Meatballs, cook until browned then turn over to brown the other side, takes about 10-15 minutes. Make sure Meatballs are cooked through.

3 thoughts on “Turkey and Quinoa Meatballs

Leave a Reply

