Buckwheat Flour Crumble

January 15th 2016 Update: I’ve upped the topping slightly. I felt it lacking the first time and after trying it with more topping I’d say I prefer it this was. The recipe has been updated.


Maybe more topping? Then I’d need more fruit, which would in turn necessitate more topping. Hmmmm…We’re gonna need a bigger dish.

Topping quartered from: Gluten-free Strawberry & Raspberry Crumble

I needed a crumble recipe, what?, Oh, Coconut Almond Crumble, yeah, I wanted another crumble, ummmm, Hemp Coconut Crumble, well, I needed a third. Really I did. All I used was blueberries this time around, I do enjoy stewed apple crumble, but crumbly topping and blueberries is a hard combination to beat. This is probably one of those posts where I question whether this is a crisp or a crumble, I could, but everything I ate as a crumble never had oats in it and I’m sticking to calling this a crumble. Whatever you call it, it really is delicious, just remember to let it cool. Many a time I’ve burned myself silly on crumble, still worth it though.

Ingredients

100g Berries, or Other Fruit, of Choice
35g Sugar
35g Ground Almonds
35g Buckwheat Four
35g Butter, Cold and Chopped

Method

1. Pre-heat oven to 180c (Fan).

2. Place the Berries in an oven proof dish. Set aside.

3. In a bowl mix together the Ground Almonds, Buckwheat Four, Butter and Sugar. Work together with fingers until it resembles breadcrumbs,

4. Sprinkle Crumb Mixture over the Berries and cook for 20 minutes until the top is golden brown.

4 thoughts on “Buckwheat Flour Crumble

Leave a Reply

