Apple and Cinnamon Buckwheat Muffins

I’d swear I was finished with baking this week, but then an errant cooking apple appeared and, well, what’s a baker to do? I’m not sure what cooking apples are referred to anywhere else, it’s just a large, tart green apple. I also have no idea what to call the apple purée, I’ve always know it as stewed apple whereas a lot of people call it apple sauce. It’s just apple chopped and cooked with a dash of water in a pot until soft. It’s funny how much you think of these things when you have a blog that gets visited from all different countries.

This is a food blog right? Not a linguistics/food blog?

Okay, onto the muffins. Well, just one more thing I have been wondering. Is cinnamon in everything an American thing? I see it used in a lot of recipes, but as far as my experience, which is limited to Ireland, goes it isn’t used with the same fervour here. Not that I’m complaining, it’s just really interesting to see how different countries gravitate towards different spices and herbs. I think we free-from cooks are a like wanderers, taking a little here and a little there and crafting our own diets. Man, I keep getting sidetracked, sorry. Muffins, right!

They still popped out, with a few whacks, but better than digging them out with a knife. The sugars in the apple probably had something to do with that.

These aren’t a sweet muffin and the taste is pretty simple, but I liked them, nothing overpowers anything and they make a nice snack. They’re pretty basic, but like I say I don’t have much in the way of cinnamon recipes so I figured I’d give it a go. I could probably expound the benefits of cinnamon and apple and even buckwheat, but this is a recipe blog and chances someone else has laid them out in a clearer more coherent way already. The majority of ingredients used on this blog are packed with good, but it’s not for me to tell you what your body needs, you’ll have to figure that out for yourself. Get a bit of all the healthy food you can and you’ll do well. The recipe is in the main Buckwheat Flour Muffins recipe page. Later!

One thought on “Apple and Cinnamon Buckwheat Muffins

  1. Apple puree, apple sauce or just fresh apple are the best ingredient you can add to have a moist product without adding any fats. I sometimes use commercial apple puree, which is pure homogenised apple, no sugar, no preservatives and sometimes fresh apple instead. Beaten with eggs and sugar or honey gives increase in volume in 3 times and pectin in apples supports the structure of the bake. It is good in gluten free, but in grain free baking it is nearly a must. I am so glad you experiment with apples. I felt that the area of apple and other fruit purees is somehow a forgotten one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

