Chia Seed Jam

No matter how tempted do not, I repeat, do not plunge your face into the hot jam. Life advice and Jam, what a marvel I am. (And a poet to boot!)

Halved from: How to Make Chia Seed Jam

Just a simple recipe, but another in our series of chia recipes, or to put it another, more honest way, me using up a bag of chia seeds. I admit I have wanted to try this as since I cut out a lot of the sugar in my diet I’ve found certain food cloyingly sweet and sickly. As you well know jam is mostly just sugar and fruit so I jumped at the opportunity to try something similar, but with a sweetness I could adjust and a much healthier version as well.

Scribbles and single portions. Maybe I should’ve named my blog that…nah.

As you can see it doesn’t make much, it made about 4 50g servings. More than enough for me, but if you have a garden full of berry bushes or fruit trees you could just double up on the recipe as many times as you need. You could also ditch the sweetener entirely if you’d rather do without, just add some water to stop the fruit scorching at the bottom of the pan. Of course the possibilities for variations are endless, this is just a simple maple and blackberry jam that’ll be spread on my Fruit and Nut Loaf. More chia recipes incoming…sometime.

Ingredients

200g Fruit of Choice (Berry or Soft Fruit)
30ml Maple Syrup or Honey, More or Less to Taste
1 Tbsp Chia Seeds

Method

1. Wash and prepare fruit.

2. Add Fruit and Sweetener to a pot and cook covered on a medium heat until juices release and fruit has softened. Mash or blend fruit if desired.

3. Bring to a boil and cook until a sauce like consistency has been achieved. Test for sweetness. Let it reduce again if adding more sweetener.

4. While still boiling stir in the Chia Seeds and cook for one minute. Stir again and then remove from heat and let cool. Jam will thicken more as it cools, but add more Chia Seeds if too thin. When cool pour into a jar and leave in the fridge for two weeks or freeze for two months.

7 thoughts on “Chia Seed Jam

Leave a Reply

