Coconut Flour Butternut Squash Muffin Tops

Letting it chill will make it easier to handle. Sorry about the mess, BNS Pasta Sauce was getting ready for freezing.

Adapted from: Pumpkin Spice Muffin Mounds

The dough is similar to my Coconut Flour Cookies, sticky at first, but after resting it’ll firm up fine and you can just pop it out of a measuring cup without any fuss or mess. I ditched the honey in favour of Maple Syrup as I find honey burns too easily for me and makes everything too dark. I also subbed  BNS for pumpkin because I have no hope of finding a pumpkin here unless it’s Halloween and even then they’re not quite at a level of quality for eating. I actually had two BNS for this and thought I’d have too much, nope, I actually had to defrost some of my frozen squash and use that instead. I think they must’ve been thick skinned as I usually have enough in one.

Now I should say that anything I say now is in no way a reflection of the original recipe’s quality or taste, this is just personal taste. Honestly, I just can’t get into coconut flour. I mostly used this recipe to use it up. It worked well and  the muffin tops were tasty, but I just don’t like the texture of coconut flour. It may be a brand issue, but it’s happened twice already. Like I say taste-wise they’re really great, there’s a lot going on, but they weren’t too sweet nor was I overpowered by the pumpkin spice. I guess coconut flour and me just don’t mix. Still it’s a really great recipe, even with me tweaking it a lot and it would make a great frozen breakfast as it should freeze fine, just defrost it well before eating. Check out the original too and find which version suits you best.

You could double or triple this if you wanted, I just happened to have three store-bought eggs that needed to be used up.

Ingredients

3 Large Eggs
100g Butternut Squash Purée
60g Coconut Flour
50ml Maple Syrup
2 Tbsp Coconut Oil, Cold and Chopped
1 Tbsp Pumpkin Spice
1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract
1/4 Tsp Baking Soda

Makes 6 Muffin Tops or 22 1 Tbsp Cookies.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 175c (Fan) and line a tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Using an electric mixer beat together the Eggs, Butternut Squash Puree, Maple Syrup and Vanilla Extract until well combined.

3. Beat in Coconut Flour, Baking Soda, Pumpkin Spice until well combined. Finally beat in Coconut Oil until thoroughly blended in. Scrape dough into centre of the bowl and let chill in the fridge for 5 minutes.

4. Scoop 1/4 Cup’s worth of dough and roll into a ball, press down onto the prepared tray and repeat for all dough. Bake for 15-20 minutes of until dark golden in colour and firm to the touch. Let cool on tray for 10 minutes and then remove to wire-rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

