Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce

I took a decent photo! Ye…I forgot to add the pasta before adding the parsley…

Adapted from: Creamy Butternut Squash Pasta

It’s funny how much this was changed in one day. I whipped up a single serve to test it out and I liked it so much I then decided to make the full recipe and freeze it for future dinners. This involved typing up my handwritten recipe (Best way to visualise a recipe) and then retyping it again later in the day. I haven’t changed the original much, I used stock instead of water, vegetable stock would work just as well as chicken. I’ve also listed the amount of Water, the original didn’t specify, you could reduce it if you aren’t freezing, you can just let it reduce down in the pan while you re-heat it if it is too thin. I found it didn’t reduce much whilst cooking the Squash and I just had to let it boil off some of the water when re-heating in a pan. It’s practically a thick soup so there plenty of leeway to add more water when blending or cooking.

Stupid pasta, hiding in the sink. I finally got a bigger pan! No more spilling for me! (Well, less spilling)

It was a really filling sauce, I’ve grown to really love Butternut Squash and it goes wonderfully with onion and garlic in soup so it’s no surprise it works well here. The fresh parsley add an additional layer of flavour, you could probably skip it if you can’t get your hands on it. Thankfully my herb garden is thriving in spite of the atrocious weather. I just added the sauce to chicken and pasta and it made a great dinner. It’s filled with so much good it’ll be taking the place of my other pasta dinner, the Coconut Alfredo as I’ve been wanting a change. Even better is the fact I can prepare it ahead of time and just cook up some pasta and chicken and have a quick dinner. Lord knows I need more of those. Simple and nutritious can’t be beat.

Ingredients

800g Butternut Squash/Hokkaido Pumpkin/Harlequin Squash, Cubed
1 Large Yellow Onion, Chopped
12 Cloves Garlic, Chopped
500ml Water/Chicken Stock
Olive Oil for Frying
Salt and Pepper to Taste

1/2 Tbsp Fresh Parsley, Chopped, to Serve

Can be frozen.
Makes 4 Servings.

Method

1. Heat Olive Oil in a pot and add the Butternut Squash, Onion, Garlic, Salt and Pepper. Cook on a medium heat for 10 minutes or until Onion is soft.

2. Add Stock to pot and bring to a boil, cover, then reduce to a simmer and let cook until Squash is soft.

3. Add the contents of the pot to a blender and blend until smooth. When using add to a pan and heat until warm, cook for a while if sauce needs to reduce and thicken, then toss Pasta in sauce, add Parsley and serve.

Variations:

Curried Squash Sauce: Mix the Chicken with 1 Tsp Curry Powder and a Pinch of Salt and Black Pepper, then cook as normal.

Indian Spiced Squash Sauce: Mix the Chicken with 1 Tsp Garam Masala, 1/4 Tsp Turmeric and Ground Ginger and a Pinch of Salt and Black Pepper, then cook as normal.

Sweet Parsley: Add 1/4 Tsp, Dried Parsley, Light Brown Sugar, 1/8 Tsp Cumin, Coriander, Dried Oregano, Sea Salt, Garlic Powder
and a pinch of Black Pepper to Chicken and cook as normal.

Sweet Cinnamon: Add 1/4 Tbsp Sea Salt, Brown Sugar, 1/4 Tsp Cinnamon and 1/16 Tsp Ground Ginger, Ground Nutmeg to Chicken and cook as normal.

Savoury Cinnamon: Add 1/4 Tsp Salt, 1/4 Tsp Cumin, 1/8 (Heaped) Tsp Ground Ginger, 1/8 (Heaped) Tsp Cinnamon, 1/8 Tsp Garlic Powder and 1/16 Tsp Cloves to Chicken and cook as normal.

11 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce

  1. Pingback: No Brand Squash |

Leave a Reply

