You say Cilantro…

…and I say cilantro and then we all hurry back to the kitchen because there’s always more work to be done and we can’t all go around naming herbs all day. You may notice these updates are related to whatever herb I happen to have some of. Today’s lucky (Or not considering I razed through it) is of course cilantro. I had two pots of it so I thought I’d try chopping off most of the two to see how hardy it is, in all honesty I could afford to ditch one, but I hate to give up free food. If it lives and thrives, and let’s face it cilantro grows like a weed, then I’ll probably raze it again in a few weeks and hope I find more recipes and if it’s not meant to be then I still have another batch.

Fresh from the garden. Nothing beats free herbs…I meant fresh! Really…but still…free!

I will hopefully have other herbs like thyme, parsley, oregano, more basil, maybe mint, in the future, but I’ll take what I can get with this awful weather. Today is just a simple smoothie, you can find it on the smoothie page as well as below. This one is daunting to look at, it’s really a startling shade of green. I can’t do most “green” vegetables due to histamine intolerance so this was something to try. It’s supposed to be really good for you, as are most fresh herbs, if not all fresh herbs. The taste is fairly mild, considering it’s mostly cilantro that’s surprising. It’s also quite pleasant, you’ll know it’s a herb smoothie make no mistake, but all that goodness in a mild smoothie should balance out any hesitation. Although I have to watch my citrus intake too so not too many of these for me…weeeeeeee food intolerances…*Sigh*

Don’t call it snot green. Okay…Wait, oops. (From: Cilantro Smoothie )

Cilantro Smoothie

240ml Water
1 Banana, Fresh or Frozen
1/2 Cup Cilantro
Juice of 1/2 Lime
1/2 Tbsp Coconut Oil
Honey/Maple Syrup to Sweeten
Pinch of Sea Salt

Optional:

1/2 Cup Mango, Chopped
1-2 Tbsp Hemp Seed

Two other slight updates, the first is the use of brown sugar in my Peanut Butter Cookies, it gives a slightly moister centre. I’m surprised I haven’t tried it before. The other is just a serving size suggestion for the Buckwheat and Sweet Potato Gnocchi, it’s rough because it’s based on me and as a tall guy (I still have to learn to leave out the euphemistic “big”, my obese days are gone) it may not be accurate for everyone, but it’ll give a rough idea.

All going well and weather permitting I should have some more fresh herb recipes in the near future. Possibly even summer squash ones! I hope….Help me Harvest Moon Goddess!

Later!

P.S Also I haven’t forgotten my promise of a cake tin lining guide. I just need to wait until I actually make a flourless nut cake again. I may also have a slightly cilantro tweak to a recipe or two. There’s still some wrapped in wet paper sitting in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

