Peanut Butter Dressing

Not even trying to class up these photos any more. Not that I really tried before mind. Taste wins every time! (That’s my excuse anyway)

A simple sauce, similar to a few others I have, but I like how versatile a dressing is when you don’t bother with the conventional use of it as a salad smotherer. Toss it on quinoa, pasta or just add to meat and vegetables and slap it on some rice and you’re golden. I like the fact that the protein in these nut butters keeps you feeling filled longer. This one is really simple, but has a nice kick from the ginger and raw garlic (The original called for garlic granules, but I like it fresh and raw myself).

I served this with Quinoa and I can’t help but remember the first time I bought Quinoa, or as I mistakenly called it Quinn-o-a. I made a double batch, tossed a Thai green curry on top and, I miss curries with chillies, they are awesome aren’t they, not to scoff at my own creations mind!, it was really awful! Yup, no stock, way too much quinoa and an assumption that it was just like rice. Thankfully I’ve learned a lot since then and now wouldn’t be separated from my pseudo-grain.

Tweaked from: Asian Cabbage Salad with Peanut Butter Dressing

Ingredients

30g or 2 Tbsp Peanut Butter
1/4 Tsp Curry Powder (Nightshade Free Curry Powder Here)
1/4 Tsp Ground Ginger
1/8 Tsp Sea Salt
1 Clove Garlic, Grated or Equivalent in Garlic Paste
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 Tbsp Lemon Juice
Water as Needed

Method

1. Mix everything but the Water together until well combined and then add Water until desired consistency is achieved.

Quinoa, Sautéed Sweet Potato, Galicy Chicken and the recipe above.

I seem to be having trouble with red quinoa, it just won’t absorb all the stock, even with an extra five minutes. It cooks fine mixed with white. I may have to try it with slightly less water. You can tell that I don’t bother with presentation, but in fairness to myself, what a wonderful person that personable person is and so modest!, I did spend the better part of two hours getting everything prepared and cooked. You’ve gotta choose your battles and since I demolished it in a matter of minutes I think appearances didn’t affect the out-come much.

Okay that’s it for a while again. I have a few recipes floating around in the ether, awaiting me to get up off my backside and snatch them up. I’ll get them them eventually and upload them if they work.  In the meantime have fun cooking and baking!

P.S Seriously, all these blogs are just incredible. I feel like I now need blog-senpai to notice me all the more!

One thought on “Peanut Butter Dressing

Leave a Reply

