Butternut Squash Bread

The texture is similar to a banana bread. Soft, but not soggy.

Halved from Here

I’ll be honest I really, really don’t like soft bread. I spent a long time stuck eating squishy flax bread when I had nothing else and once I had a chance to break away I never looked back. So I’m biased against this bread, but it’s not that bad. It’s soft, but not gooey. It’s a free from kitchen sink job and tweaking it too much would probably trash it. I’ve had better, but something that uses all the flours that usually combine with things I don’t/can’t eat and leaves them to themselves is okay by me.

It’s slightly crunchy outside and soft inside.

Whether it’s all it’s claimed to be health-wise is hard to say, but with all that’s in it and all that’s left out you could do a lot worse. If you’d rather a firmer loaf with a similar taste try my Pumpkin Spiced Buckwheat Bread. That’s it for me….just kidding, tomorrow, after a three year break, it’s Cheesecake in Buckwheat Pastry time!

Ingredients

Wet:

120g Butternut/Sweet Potato Squash Purée
42g Butter/Coconut Oil, Soft
40ml Maple Syrup
1 Large Egg
1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract

Dry:

33g Brown Rice Flour
25g Ground Flaxseed
13g Coconut Flour
1 Tsp Baking Powder
1/2 Tsp Pumpkin Spice

Makes one small flat loaf.
Can be frozen.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 180c (No Fan). Grease and line a 6×3 inch loaf pan.

3. In a large bowl mix together, using an electric mixer, the Wet Ingredients. Add Dry Ingredients and mix until combined. Batter will be thick, slightly dry and lumpy. Don’t add Water.

4. Scoop batter into prepared tin, smoothing down with a wet spoon, and bake for 35-45 minutes, turning halfway if needed, until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean.

5. Cool in tin for 5 minutes, then remove from tin, remove greaseproof paper and let cool completely on a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

