On failures, successes and the reason why.

Today I decided to try a variation on my Tahini Bread, or rather two variations. One was peanut butter instead of tahini which worked well and was somewhat reminiscent of my Fluffy Nut Butter Bread recipe, the other was just the standard tahini bread in a small tin which sadly didn’t work out. Why am I telling you this? Well, although I did say that I wouldn’t be a day-to-day blogger and that most of this would be recipes I still feel like I’d like to toss some of my experience into the vast ether that is the internet. I’ve often remarked how helpful bits and pieces from different people, random threads and blogs etc. have been over the years, this is just my small, slightly topical contribution.

What does the failure of a baking tin have to do with food intolerances? Well, everything in a way. The first is that I know why it failed to work, perhaps I should have guessed it wouldn’t and I did have my reservations, but you have to experiment and most important of all learn from your failures, in other words: Know the reason why. You’re going to stumble, fail and screw up, a lot, that’s not what most people want to hear, but it’s the best thing you will ever be told, I was told it and I’ve never once forgot it.

Three years in, nearly ten stone lost (Confound those final three pounds!) and I still stumble occasionally. Case in point: The Buckwheat Porridge I relied on vanished for some inexplicable reason and I decided that I’d just do with my high fibre bran cereal. That didn’t work out so well, too much of one thing will always cause trouble, but I never realised that the lower fibre porridge was giving me a break in between cereal days. So I took that newly acquired knowledge and have now replaced every second day with a slightly lower fibre cereal and I’ll still have to monitor it and adjust on the fly, but it’s looking better already.

What you can take from this is that even when you’re happy and safe you’ll never be truly free from worries, that’s depressing, but on the flip side if you’re prepared to learn from your mistakes and be aware of them you’ll bounce back all the quicker and will be able to prevent this happening again. That’s true of anything in life really. So by observing what I’d been eating, researching (Googling randomly) the food I’d been eating all along and trying to reason why it was happening I’ve set up myself for anything like this in the future.Multiple food allergies can seem like a nightmare, there’s so little you can eat and it can be crushing, but trust me it can be fought and conquered. I like to remember this poem by Emily Dickinson:

“Hope” is the thing with feathers –
That perches in the soul –
And sings the tune without the words –
And never stops – at all –

And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard –
And sore must be the storm –
That could abash the little Bird
That kept so many warm –

I’ve heard it in the chillest land –
And on the strangest Sea –
Yet – never – in Extremity,
It asked a crumb – of me.

I will stumble, but I’ll get up faster each and every time. I remember a catchphrase to do with bulling, but it’s also pretty apt when discussing the trails and tribulations of food allergies and intolerances: “It doesn’t get better, you get better”. Don’t ever stop getting better, never settle for anything less than a happy you, whatever that may be.

I consider myself a student of life and I’ll keep learning, improving and never once will I stumble backwards to what I was. To sum it up simply, when you fail, learn the reason why and use that failure to fuel future successes. Now I’ll climb down off my high horse, jump from my soap box and carry on carrying on. Take care.

Leave a Reply

