Carob and Peanut Butter Brownie Pies

Waste not, want not. I used the scrap dough for a silly topping and had to put a baking bead inside to stop it rising. Giggling ensued.

Sometimes you need to do something silly to just take a break from it all. With me it’s a 24/7 deal, I can’t take a break from this diet, I can’t walk in to a restaurant or a bakery or even a shop and just grab something whenever I feel like it. There’s no one to cook for me and no pre-packaged or all-in-one meal mixes I can use, not that I’m knocking anything like that, just giving you a little insight to how I live and eat.

Silently praying that the crust hasn’t burned from the double baking. It didn’t thankfully. Lemon meringues next time!

Now saying all that I’d never go back to the miserable, obese person I was. I’m better than I’ve ever been and I have learn to go against the grain (Puns) and not worry about arbitrary and imagined rules of food and preparation. I’d never claim a carob brownie was the same as a chocolate one (They’re worlds apart, appreciate them for their own flavours) , but that won’t stop me using carob and enjoying it. Sounds silly, but it took me a long to to learn. I’m not on any defined diet, I’m cooking and eating for a better me and I’ll make my own rules to follow as I need them.

Carob is so dark it always make me think it’ll taste much too strong and yet it’s almost always mild tasting.  Goes well with blackberry as well as peanut butter.

Now what that means is I’ll make something as silly as a carob peanut butter brownie pie and even if it isn’t perfect I’ll enjoy every single step from making to eating. This one is somewhat of a hodgepodge of recipes so I’ll try to make it as clear as possible.

Okay first the crust is the Flax and Buckwheat found here and the buttercream is found here and the brownies were from: Gluten Free Brown Rice Flour Brownies, now mine ended up a little dry, but that was probably the carob or the way they were baked in small tins. I didn’t want them too wet as they may not have baked so I left them as is. I know in changing the recipe it wouldn’t be the same, but they still taste just fine, crunchy on top and soft through. The original with cocoa and a full serve would no doubt be better, but I’m happy enough. You should check out the original if you can eat chocolate.

I had so much fun making these, they didn’t turn out too shabby either. Maybe they’ll inspire someone to try something similar.

Okay! You’ve made the crust, blind baked it, baked it again to dry out the bottom and have let it rest for a few minutes. Now the filling.

Ingredients

100g Brown Rice Flour
1/4 Tsp Baking Powder
56g Butter
75g Sugar
45g Carob
1/4 Tsp Vanilla Extract
1 Large Egg

Makes 4 10cm Tarts.

Method

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175c (Fan), same temperature as for the pie crust if you’re using my recipe. Add the Flour and Baking soda to a bowl and set aside.

2. Melt the Butter in a pot, over a medium heat, and then whisk in the Sugar until combined and remove from the heat.

3. Whisk in the Carob and then the Vanilla Extract and finally the Egg. Whisk until smooth and glossy.

4. Add to the Flour mixture and stir until just combined. If too thick add a drop of water until a thick batter that drops off the spoon is formed.

5. Pour into the pastry cases and bake for 20 minutes, turning half way if needed. Test with a skewer and when firm to the touch and clean through remove from the oven and let rest for 15 minutes before removing from the tin.

The Buttercream is 100g Icing Sugar and 25g Butter and 1 Tbsp Natural Peanut Butter more if you want to cover them completely.

Leave a Reply

