Quinoa Flour

Ingredients

Quinoa as Needed

Method

1. Preheat Oven to 175c (No Fan)

2. Measure out the weight of flour needed in Quinoa and add a little extra. Wash the Quinoa in cold water and then pour onto greaseproof paper lined tray.

3. Bake, stirring the quinoa occasionally, for 10-15 minutes or until Quinoa is completely dry, slightly golden and fragrant. Let cool completely on tray.

4. Add 1/4 Cup (45g) of Quinoa to grinder and grind a few times, letting the grinder rest in between so as not to overheat the motor, until it resembles a fine powder. Repeat until all Quinoa is used up.

Best stored in the fridge in an airtight container. Will last up to 3 months in the fridge.

8 thoughts on “Quinoa Flour

  1. Well, once again thank you. The nutty smell of the flour was wonderful – even though I don’t like using the word “nutty”, I have seen it too often, it seems everything nowadays gets to have a “nutty flavor”. As for the flavor, you were right. The bitterness was basically all gone. I don’t think I will be buying quinoa flour any more, now that I can make it myself. The only constraint is that you need a good coffee grinder and mine is not always cooperating these days. How did you come up with this recipe?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is getting a trifle over used. I often think of the seeds as having a grassy fragrance, but that doesn’t sound as pleasant! I’m in the same boat, I think mine is getting a tad worn. I can’t decide whether to replace it or not. It seems there are modestly priced machines and expensive ones with nothing in between. I think I cobbled it together when I needed quinoa flour, but didn’t want to pay the ridiculously high prices. I was lucky enough to buy six large boxes for the price of one once upon a time, which is why I have so many quinoa flour recipes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

